Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

cattailabroad

40 F Columbia, MO

My Details

Last Online
Today – 11:02am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 2″ (1.57m)
Body Type
A little extra
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, and laughing about it
Sign
Scorpio, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
$40,000–$50,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I believe in making things happen and that our lives are ours to mold into whatever we want most. I truly love my life, I am lucky and know it and appreciate it.

I grew up in the Midwest but never really belonged so I "ran away" right after college. I have lived in 7 states and worked every job you can think of from pollinating corn to teaching snowboarding to sequencing DNA, to chasing birds in Mexico. In Colorado I fell in love with real snow and the Rocky Mountains and the West in general but I moved 13 times in 9 years before moving to New Mexico where I fell in love all over again with the high desert. In academia I have definitely found my niche. There really aren't many places that can fit in! Being surrounded by people who are curious, wicked smart, independent who don't mind getting dirty or being bitten by various animals is pretty awesome, who accept me for who I am and actually give a #%$ about the world and making a difference is pretty wonderful!

I like to spend time with friends as stay as active as possible. Finishing my PhD took a bit of a toll on me and I am working my way back to what is a more normal fitness and activity level. I uploaded pics that show the many variations of me from almost present through my most fit and active. I am working on getting to somewhere in the middle of that range! Right now I run, swim, and walk regularly and am hoping to add more variety to those activities when I live in a place that offers more options!

I love to hike, bird, camp, snowshoe, snowboard etc etc. Pretty much anything outside that doesn't require a motor. Enjoying the outdoors requires peace and quiet to hear the birds! I am infinitely curious and never stop exploring and love being with people who are always questioning and looking and trying to better understand the world around them.

I am looking for someone who knows who they are and what they want in life and is hopefully well on their way to getting it. Someone active and outdoorsy would be great! I want to get out and move and explore! Preferably someone smart (this is a real turn on!), witty, introspective and adventurous.

Right now I am interested in meeting people for friendship as well as dating since I just moved to the area.

Ultimately, love wise, I want to be a member of a relationship team where we work together to meet each other's dreams and goals and also get through the inevitable tough times. It would be great if you wanted to push me to explore something new and different than my usual direction and be willing to be pushed yourself. My life has been in a pursuit of adventure and change with stability and I think that is a great model for a relationship. Stability and safety with someone you can trust plus sharing new experiences and viewpoints and adventures.

I am fun, smart, and independent
What I’m doing with my life
I am a graduate student in a conservation related field and I genuinely love love love what I do. Currently I live in Missouri but I get to travel around the US for work and chase cool critters in Mexico every winter. I will be in MO for about 2 more years and then who knows (although not Missouri). I guess you could say I am career driven but I would better describe it as experience driven. I have followed my dreams my entire life and am in a great place where I get to create great experiences that I love and that make a difference in the world too. I have worked really hard for it and am proud of where I have gotten. If you understand what it means to have a dream and go for it until you actually achieve it then I already like you!
I’m really good at
Being a friend, finding birds, public speaking, motivating myself although not necessarily in that order.
The first things people usually notice about me
Honestly probably my hair which is actually red but gets very blond from being out in the sun so people always think it is dyed. After that they probably notice that I am chatty, outgoing and opinionated. Generally a happy friendly person.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I love sci fi and fantasy writing so Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings are a given. I also love the Hunger Games and am reading "The Dagger and the Coin" series by Daniel Abraham. I also love anything by Bill Bryson and Douglas Adams.

Music wise I am genuinely in love with Cake and Jack Johnson but I am not very knowledgable in this arena! Introduce me to something new!

My favorite movies are still the original Star Wars, although I love Walk the Line, most things with Sandra Bullock (unless Keanu Reeves is involved), basically pretty happy movies that don't remind me how the world can be pretty crappy.

I guess the general theme of my entertainment likes revolves around things that highlight what is good in the world and how people can enjoy it or add to it. There is so much genuine suffering and tragedy in the world. I don't want to focus on it for my down time. Maybe this is because my career focuses on wildlife conservation which is pretty depressing at times. My work time is focused on solutions for ugliness so my down time needs to be filled with what is awesome about this world that makes it worth fighting for!

Food! Well I kinda love food. Mexican is hands down my favorite. REAL Mexican though not TexMex. New Mexican food, preferably southern New Mexican is my favorite American version. I love green chile and any excuse to eat it. I am pretty adventurous in this arena and love to try new things. I have been living in an ethnic food desert for a long time so I want to go out and explore!
The six things I could never do without
Friends, great conversations, pets, a sense of wonder, time outside, travel and a dream to pursue. (sorry I can't count)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Birds, the state of the world, why can't everyone just get along, all the places/things I want to see/do in this fabulous world. How could I merge items 1 and 3 into something that pays me for the rest of my life and makes a difference.

What I want to draw or paint next is a new addition to this thought process. I have taken up sketching and watercolors and love it!

I think a lot about friendships and relationships. I have made some fabulous friends through the years and I value them more than I can say. I am really looking forward to finding a partner. That is the only thing that is truly missing in my life right now and I am excited for it.
On a typical Friday night I am
Lately, playing E league softball and then going out with the team afterwards. But typically I am doing something with friends with an adult beverage in hand.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Hmmm...not very. I guess that I am not someone who falls in love easily.
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 35–45
  • Located anywhere
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You liked what you read and think we could have a good conversation. Want to know what kind of bird that is in your backyard. Are also happy and passionate about something and want to share your life with someone!