Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

chiefofclarinet

27 M Baltimore, MD

I’m looking for

  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 22–29
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Online now!
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Asian
Height
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Christianity, but not too serious about it
Sign
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Student
Income
$20,000–$30,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Dislikes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Okay), Sign Language (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I am a musician, and science is my instrument...
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Ah, graduate school, how I simultaneously love and loathe thee...

Went to undergrad at the University of Iowa (raised in Iowa as well), and now working on a PhD in molecular biophysics. Yeah, I've been doing this for four years, and I sometimes still don't what this field really is... I enjoy the work a lot; there are just some annoying things to deal with as a graduate student.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm both quiet and loud. Sounds oxymoronic? Probably is, but I'll explain. I am rather reserved by nature, and generally not one for small talk. However, if I'm excited about something, then it's hard to get me to stop talking... I also have a very loud voice. People can hear me coming from a LONG distance away.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books - Mystery novels, both the classics (Sherlock Holmes, Agatha Christie) and the so-bad-it's-good ones. I also read a LOT of science books for the general public; it's fun to see what writers think about science and how different it is from the actual life of a scientist. I like non-fiction in general.

Music - Classical and Jazz; I like complexity in music. I play clarinet (as my user name implies) and saxophone -- each for over a decade -- and I am trying to learn more instruments. I like listening to both live music and recordings. I'm learning to appreciate music written since ~1960, but it's a slow process.

Movies & TV - Haven't been to a movie theater in this millennium, haven't actively followed a TV show since high school. (I did see most of the last season of Breaking Bad, but none of the rest of the show!)

Food - I'll eat just about anything. I particularly enjoy Asian (Chinese, Thai, Korean, Indian) and Mediterranean (Italian, Greek) cuisines. I really enjoy food in general.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
1.) Caffeine. Coffee, tea, soda, doesn't matter. I don't function before noon (and sometimes even after that) without some amount of caffeine.

2.) Science. I'm a logical person, and I'm always curious about what I don't know. It's especially cool when I'm learning something that no one else knows, which is the goal of scientific research. I also like trying to solve problems, which is all that science really is!

3.) Clarinet (or saxophone, or music in general). I really enjoy playing music, especially after a long day of (trying to do) scientific research. It works the other side of my brain, and it's a lot of fun to do, especially after I get a piece down.

4.) Books. I love to learn. Even trashy mysteries teach me something (like how not to write a mystery novel).

5.) Sleep. I sleep a lot. I regularly sleep well past noon on the weekend.

6.) My iPhone. I'm addicted to the thing. Playing games, checking my email, texting, I'm can't put the thing down! (My new iPad is doubly bad!)

Obviously, my friends and family (and family friends) are super-important. But they aren't things; they're people...
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
- Antibiotics, and how bacteria can ignore them or get rid of them (my research project)
- The Mozart Clarinet Concerto (and other clarinet and saxophone pieces)
- Did I forget to do something today?
- What I should get for lunch/dinner.
- Where I'll be in a few years.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Banging my head against a wall in the lab (sometimes literally), practicing clarinet or saxophone, looking for a concert, passed out due to a long week, or just hanging out.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Not really that private, but there's nowhere else to put this. I tend to be a bit old-fashioned in many ways (musical tastes, viewpoints, entertainment). Also, not private, but I hate the heat and like the cold.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You think any/all of this is cool.

As I am reserved by nature, I tend to not message people, so feel free to start the conversation!