cinephile23
35 Brooklyn, NY
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
cinephile23
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a playful intellectual. I love discussing ideas and creating new ideas with other people. I think intellectualism is sexy. I'm also compassionate and caring; demanding and opinionated. I love combining opposites, defying stereotypes, and pushing beyond the boundaries of what I think is possible. Though doing that is not necessarily easy. It requires doing when I don't know what I'm doing and even if I'm scared. I like trying new things and thinking outside the box.

Right now I'm transitioning out of a successful career in academia and figuring out what I'm doing with my life from here. Maybe teaching.

Other stuff about me:

Getting my Master's in Cinema and Media Studies.

I was born and raised in Brooklyn.
What I’m doing with my life
Tutoring writing and English to undergraduates with disabilities; working at my first real office job and trying to have a good attitude about it; house managing at a non-profit theater; getting interested in digital photography; writing- might want to be a freelance writer one day; figuring out creative ways to make a career out of a degree in film studies.
I’m really good at
Analyzing texts- written or cinematic, cooking, writing, other stuff that I can't think of at the moment.
The first things people usually notice about me
I don't know. People don't usually tell me.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I mostly read academic stuff related to my grad school program. Currently documentary theory and food politics for my Master's thesis. I've read dudes like Foucault, Derrida, Deleuze and Guattari. Plus a bunch of well-known (in the Academy at least) media scholars. I'm really into feminist theory and ranting Since reading is my job, in my free time, I watch a fair amount of quality tv and Independent/ foreign cinema.

Lately, House of Cards. Game of Thrones is awesome. Also, Breaking Bad, Dexter, True Blood, United States of Tara, In Treatment. Also, Battlestar Galatica (2000s version, not the 70s camp), Six Feet Under.

I tend to prefer alternative music (Fiona Apple, Alanis Morissette) and vegetarian food (homemade, Indian, Chinese, Thai). I like using new and unfamiliar ingredients. Fiddlehead ferns are fun to say and to eat. I also like baking with whole ingredients (teff flour, maple syrup, coconut oil).

I also rock climb, TRX and yoga on the regular.
The six things I could never do without
My friends,
Wnyc radio
raspberry apple crumb pie from Bread Alone
a healthy body,
a job that requires me to think,
and a living wage.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The mess that we've created in the world and how we can change that in small ways. How do we create radical democracy? Easier said than done. Having a world where people of all different opinions, even different than my own, can live.
On a typical Friday night I am
Relaxing at home: watching some cools shows or talking to people I care about.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I like drinking water that is warm (Yes, I'm serious about that.)
You should message me if
Being friends is a pre-requisite to any type of relationship, whether sexual or platonic. I have an open relationship and a boyfriend and you don't mind.
More