Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

circlepines

24 Portland, OR Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Men
  • Ages 22–30
  • Near me
  • For new friends, short-term dating, casual sex

My details

Last online
Yesterday – 5:48pm
Orientation
Gay
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 0″ (1.52m)
Body type
Average
Diet
Strictly other
Smokes
No
Drinks
Not at all
Drugs
Never
Religion
Judaism, and laughing about it
Sign
Gemini, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Medicine
Income
Status
Seeing Someone
Type
Non-monogamous
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs and dislikes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Ancient Greek (Okay), Spanish (Okay), French (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
The geography of my life so far: grew up in a little town in Vermont, went to college in a little town in Ohio, spent some time in London and Italy, lived in a Jewish collective in Chicago, kept going west until I hit Portland. In July I'll be completing the circle and moving back to Vermont, which I am incredibly excited about.

I could spend hours getting lost in a strange city, wandering through a museum, or leafing through a book, especially with a big mug of tea. I love languages, trivia, word games, and all kinds of new knowledge. I like to hike, go for late-night runs, and don't consider a day complete unless I've been on my bike.

I'm more of a listener than a talker; I like folks who can fill the gaps in conversation without being overbearing.

I spend a lot of time thinking about sexuality and gender. A few concepts that are important to me: body positivity, enthusiastic consent, queer and trans identity politics, pro-choice movements and reproductive justice. If you're nodding at this list of buzzwords, high five! Let's get coffee or tea or something.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
In undergrad I studied archaeology, classics, and chemistry, and all the ways that they intersect. (Is it really really old? Can I grind it up, dissolve it, run it through a machine, and tell you what it's made of? Awesome.)

Somewhere along the way I got diverted into medicine, and after a couple of years working as a health educator and a medical assistant, I'm getting ready to apply to med school. My dream is to have a primary care practice focused on serving queer and trans folks and people living with HIV.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
being late. finding the data. getting lost on a bike. baking. figuring out that last bewildering crossword clue. trimming latex gloves into non-standard barriers. getting really worked up over bad science. accidentally telling the same stories over and over.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
short guy on a bike with a large book bungee-corded to the rack, singing Josh Ritter as he rides.

(this section has been here for a while but is no longer strictly accurate, since after moving to Portland I took off my bike rack to install fenders and still haven't put the rack back on. as a consequence, the large book has been transferred to a messenger bag that's slowly making me permanently lopsided.)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: I'm a pretty omnivorous reader with never enough time. Right now I'm working on Thomas Merton's The Seven Storey Mountain. Goodreads, probably not up to date: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/4300624

Movies and TV: One time someone asked me what my favorite movie was during a job interview, and the only thing I could think of was Shortbus. He said, "Isn't that basically soft-core porn?!" and I sputtered something about it being a really sweet movie about queer community and relationships and self-discovery and also having Justin Vivian Bond, who is amazing. It was mortifying at the time, but I got the job.

Shortbus aside, I've seen Angels in America about a half-dozen times, loved Weekend, have a soft spot for Kubrick (one of these things is not like the others...). I have recently discovered a guilty pleasure for Victorian detective procedurals and historical medical dramas.

Music: Lots of folk and some indie stuff. The list of acts I've seen live in the past decade is pretty representative: Josh Ritter, Richard Thompson, Girlyman, The Magnetic Fields, Ani DiFranco, Chris Pureka, They Might Be Giants. (On last.fm: http://www.last.fm/user/linearbbq) I was a fairly serious musician when I was younger and still pick up a clarinet occasionally.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
- someone to be with
- something to wonder about
- somewhere to go
- something to do with my hands
- something to listen to
- deep breaths
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
what to make for dinner.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
In an ideal world, cooking Shabbat dinner; going to a contra dance or a folk show; hanging out with friends to bake, watch obscure movies, or play board games.

In the real world, working swing shift in the emergency department; studying for the MCAT; catching up on sleep. Mamas, don't let your babies grow up to be premeds.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm a big spoon trapped in a little spoon's body.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
- you're in the mood for someone short and sweet.
- you need a companion for a hike or bike ride.
- you appreciate tea and board games.
- I can play with your dog. not a euphemism.
- this sounds like a fun experiment to you: http://www.nytimes.com/2015/01/11/fashion/modern-love-to-fall-in-love-with-anyone-do-this.html

If you're not interested in trans men -- or if you're overly interested in trans men -- save yourself the time.

I'm an appallingly bad correspondent, so if I don't respond to a message for an unreasonably long time, it's probably nothing personal -- just that I lost track of my inbox (or, equally likely, got shy and flustered and couldn't decide what to say). If that happens, please don't hesitate to prod me for a response.