Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


73 Sebastopol, CA Man


Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 55-70
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating

My details

Last online
Nov 24
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
5' 4" (1.63m)
Body Type
Average build
Other and laughing about it
Has kid(s)
English (Fluently), Spanish (Somewhat)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Let me apologize upfront for the wordiness that follows. I've written about me the way I'd like to read about you--flowingly and in great detail. I find skeletal profiles very frustrating. There are hundreds to go through on OKC and, because of what little is shared, most of them don't stand out from any others. How to know who to contact?...who might be a match? This is my attempt to give you some honest insight into me, obviously from my perspective:

I'm a long-time Sebastopolian, originally from NY (left in '67) via Berkeley (til '69) and Mendocino (til '74). An ex-Ivy League, ex-hippie. I'm health-oriented, curious, love food and am an excellent cook (but find myself not preparing anything that takes more than 15 minutes, lately), exercise regularly, am self-employed part-time. I'm responsible, unconventional, organized, intense, financially sound (800+ credit score and zero debt) but not wealthy, good at finding solutions, youthful, finally grown-up (but still learning), a good communicator and a potter/sculptor (since age 59). I love tools and doing projects around the house, but also like to get 'outta' town (Mendocino and SF are favorites). I'm most comfortable in shorts or jeans, but also like dressing up or costuming. I'm a thrift shop browser, love my hot tub, have a sewing machine (and use it), enjoy good books and movies, am an NPR junkie, used to dance up a storm (still enjoy hitting the floor now and then) and like volunteering with nonprofits. I consider myself to be a good friend; helpful, supportive and honest.

Though I've spent many years pursuing various spiritual paths, (New Age, Hinduism, Sufism, Buddhism), at this point I'm just into awareness and being present.

More and more I tend to view my opinions and beliefs not as the truth, but as "my stories" about things. I'm not necessarily invested in them. It pleases me to be able to chuckle when I notice them. They're more like the clothes that I put on each day or for a specific event.

I want a partner-in-life. Not to smother or be smothered; shared interests, individual interests, shared friends, individual friends; comfortably independent/interdependent. Someone whose age is close enough to mine to understand and be able to relate to my stage of life. Hopefully, someone to live with and share and explore the rest of life with. I'd like to find a fun, interesting, intelligent, articulate, wise, slender, petite, warm and open woman. I'm mixing all kinds of adjectives here....spontaneous, responsible, strong, health-oriented, with integrity, familiar and comfortable with her "shadow". Maybe someone who also likes to putter on home projects. A good communicator & friend & hopefully she considers relationship as "path"....

AND a relationship that encourages me to grow beyond who I believe myself to be......

AND I seek a woman for whom 'being aware' is a priority. Not a serious, grit-your-teeth pursuit, more like a laugh or giggle at how silly we can be when we're not being present.

BOTTOMLINE: someone who truly likes me, though obviously, not necessarily everything about me. (But hopefully those things you don't care for about me, you find humorous).
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I run a small property management business from my home, very part-time. I read a lot, soak in my Softub, get together with friends, cook, hike, watch Netflix, work with clay (pottery and sculpture), go to galleries and museums, net surf, and think about life (what actually is it?). I am enjoying the digital age and spend a lot of time using my iPad and iPhone...though I still don't like FaceBook.

I had felt the desire to do some work with a non-profit again and was honored 4 years ago by being asked to join the board of Food For Thought, the Sonoma County AIDS Food Bank. (What a great group of people!). Was recently elected Treasurer of FFT, which brings with it the encouragement to more actively participate in all the financial aspects of the org.

Also, I've been working with a Sebastopol group called cittaslow Sebastopol on projects to create a safe, interesting, and walkable town. Our first project, The Sebastopol Pedline, three routes originating from the Plaza and heading in different directions, with different highlights and attractions is currently in beta-testing.

About 2 years ago I started meeting with an elder group at Coffee Catz in Sebastopol. Meeting informally, weekly, as a small, leaderless group to discuss whatever is "up" for us that week (from a decidedly elder perspective) has been a source of tremendous satisfaction. Meeting regularly with people of similar age to me to delve (often deeply) into pertinent subjects, has been consistently rewarding. To me it is both precious and rare to find people, at a later stage of life, who are committed to exploring the life-stage with openness and candidness. I'm extremely grateful to have found this group.

I'm constantly amazed at how much knowledge and how many answers are at my fingertips 24/7 on the internet. Being insatiably curious, anytime I have a question or need a piece of information, I google it. For example: I fixed my washing machine for $10 with a part and instructions I found online. The calories and nutritional information for all foods is right there. Consumer research, before buying anything is easily done. I admit it, I'm an internet junkie!
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Cooking. Let me rephrase that. I love my own cooking.
Taking care of myself.
Clear, articulate communication.
Paying attention.
Listening and asking questions.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My smile.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I mostly enjoy fiction, particularly historical fiction (British, Roman, American). Been rereading (4th time) The Power of Now, about one page a day. Just finished one of Anthony Bourdain's books. As an ex-restaurant professional, I get a kick out of the well-written descriptions by the bad-boy chef. Lately I've been reading a couple of books a week. Last year I switched to doing most of my reading on my iPad. It's making a difference in the depth and breadth of what I read because everything is pretty much available right there. Much of it from the public library.


I like jazz (if it's not dissonant), blues, R &B, mountain music, classic rock, oldies, chamber music and classical, music from Mali and gamelan from Indonesia. But I generally prefer silence or the sounds of nature.

I love period movies. I just enjoyed watching the documentary on Paul Simon and the making of the Graceland album on Netflix. I don't get live tv, but do watch movies and tv shows on Netflix. (I'm really irritated by commercials!) I tend to go to movie theaters only when there's something that I really want to see on a big screen, and I'm willing to put up with a theater.

Food again. Food is really important to me and I find great pleasure in it (visual, smell, flavor, texture, the after-swallow feeling). Besides my own cooking, I prefer friends cooking. After that, Asian cuisines in general (Thai, Chinese, Vietnamese, Korean, sushi), but I also like Mexican (and most other authentic ethnic food), BBQ, and seafood and some of the fine local cuisine (which tends to be overpriced). Really most anything that's fresh and well-prepared with lots of veggies --except if it's got wheat in it. About 26 years ago I discovered I had a wheat intolerance. In the summer I mostly have a BIG salad for dinner....AND CHOCOLATE! It's amazing how much pleasure a piece of dark chocolate melting in my mouth can bring.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
fresh air, clean water, nature, fresh vegetables, chocolate and I'd be hard-pressed to be happy without the internet. Actually the first 4 are the only things I probably couldn't do without.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
The Now. Life. What is it? What are we, really? How real is reality?Is there any innate significance, meaning or purpose to it? Is it all random or are there patterns....and how (if at all) do we influence them? Staying present in the Now seems to make life a lot better, with less anxiety and distress. Accepting what actually is--what a concept! LOL
Pretty intense, huh? Don't worry, I love to laugh at it all.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Having dinner with a friend, maybe followed by a movie......or putting in hours on (but not contacting anyone).
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Though my memory for many, many things is infallible, in certain ways it's like Swiss cheese....mostly always has been. I write things down, leave notes for myself, and use a mini recorder. No, it's not dementia, I've been this way most of my adult life.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
If you get my references and resonate with them, and if what I've said piques your interest to learn more about me.