clean_machine
50 Ottawa, Ontario, CA
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
clean_machine
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am a geek, seeking same. Also somewhat shy. If you fit the bill, or are maybe just a bit geek-curious, read on!

I am a bit of a chivalrous gentleman (thanks, mom). It's still a thing guys can be. I'm an avid gamer, gadget enthusiast and tech maven. Also big into sci-fi and fantasy. I also love science and sciency things down to the depth of my being, tho I was never much good at anything beyond the computer science variety. The whole genre fascinates me - from cell biology to astrophysics to quantum mechanics to earth and planetary science to oceanography to atmospherics to zoology - love it all. I want to understand how it all works, from the very tiny to the very large.

I love to cook. I love good food and good wine. I cycle when the weather's good. Also in good weather, camping is fun. I listen to audiobooks when I can, mostly scifi and fantasy. I also listen to a ton of podcasts. I cut cable-tv out of my life years ago so if I can't get it online, I don't care about it.

I am also somewhat shy. I have to screw up my courage quite a bit to message women first, so if you want to go ahead, I wont mind :)

Oh, and as a standard disclaimer, please have more than a blurry headshot in your profile pics. I want to know what you look like! Women from the central Ottawa area only, please. I do not own a car and unless you seriously interest me, I ain't truckin' to Stittsville or Embrun.
What I’m doing with my life
Being a geek and loving it. Running the country (ok, not really, but I do work on the Hill).
I’m really good at
Being sarcastic and funny. Poking fun at life. Being of an even temperament. Making a tasty breakfast - I likes me bacon crispy :)
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm somewhat irreverent. Titles and rank do not impress me. I love to laugh. That, and the coke bottle specs.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Sci-fi and fantasy literature and movies. I like to see things go boom! As far as music goes, I am a child of the 70s and 80s but that does not limit me. I love me some jazz and roots, bluegrass, classical and celtic as well.
The six things I could never do without
Canada, the internet, bacon, beer, podcasts and good coffee.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
In no particular order: The state of things on this rock we all call home. The wonders of scientific and technological discovery. Women of a certain age. My next PC build.
On a typical Friday night I am
Out after work for a pint at my local. Or making a meal at home (wanna join me?)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Geekdom encompasses a lot. You'd be surprised what I like and it just might be something you like, too :)
You should message me if
You are in the central Ottawa area. You are geek-curious or want someone with a decent sense of humour and don't mind a little chivalry.
More