Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

coderanger

28 M Lafayette, CA

My Details

Last Online
Feb 13
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 3″ (1.91m)
Body Type
A little extra
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Not at all
Drugs
Never
Religion
Judaism, and laughing about it
Sign
Cancer, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Technology
Income
$80,000–$100,000
Relationship Status
Seeing Someone
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, and doesn’t want any
Pets
Likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Okay), C++ (Fluently), LISP (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I am a transplanted New Yorker, now residing the the San Francisco Bay Area. I am a major computer geek, and will talk your ears off about almost anything if you give me half a chance. I love learning, but hate school. One of these days I will build myself a bipedal mecha.
What I’m doing with my life
By day I am a programmer for a small startup in Seattle that makes server automation tools, though I work remotely and only go up to Washington every few months. I also speak at a lot of local meetings and conferences on Python and system operations.

I am slowly teaching myself things I find interesting (the current list includes lots of random programming languages, neural network theory, biomimitic systems, and computer security). I am a massive Python evangelist, and will espouse about it at great length whenever possible, especially in the fields of game development and web programming. In my spare time I make video games, work on some FOSS projects, and do lighting, both theatrical and event stuff.

In various other eras I have been interested in marine biology (I'm SCUBA certified), robotics and embedded programming, industrial design, manufacturing processes, quantum and temporal physics (I classify myself as an armchair physicist), and probably a few dozen other random things I am forgetting right now.
I’m really good at
Making computers do what I say. Listening (so I'm told). Lighting. Back rubs. Cooking.
The first things people usually notice about me
My hair and beard. Either that or my height.

Most people tell me they thought I was scary the first time they saw me, I really don't know where they get that ::creepygrin::
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Snow Crash, Neuromancer, Diamond Age, Hitchhikers Guide, Enders Game (though I avoid giving Card any money these days), Stranger in a Strange Land, 21 Balloons, Johnathan Livingston Seagull, The Alchemist, Anything by Daniel Pinkwater, Anything by Vonnegut (especially The Sirens of Titan).

Music: See for yourself. http://www.last.fm/user/coderanger/.

TV (read: Netflix and Hulu): House, Lie to Me, Fringe, Mythbusters, Good Eats, Dr. Who

Older TV: Firefly, The Tick, Star Trek, SG1, Dead Like Me, Ghost in the Shell: SAC, Invader Zim, Dr. Who
The six things I could never do without
The people I care about, things to ponder, new experiences to share, somewhere to feel safe, touch, the internet (sad but true).
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to make the world better. How brains work, both mine in particular and just in general. Shiny Things™.
On a typical Friday night I am
Working on some bit of code or other.

Playing games with friends or watching a movie. Preferably after cooking something yummy.

Roaming Wikipedia, learning about lots of things I will never need to know anything about. Also spending way too much time on Reddit.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have an irrational fear of driving behind a big truck when going under a bridge. I always worry they are going to get stuck all of a sudden.

Also I don't drink at all. Never have. I tend to avoid all psychoactive chemicals in general. I will have caffeine sometimes, but I try to keep it to a minimum (but I don't have a problem with those that do partake of such things).

My teddy bear is probably cooler than you, deal with it.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 20–32
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends
You should message me if
You want to go on an adventure, large or small.

You are capable of an intelligent discussion.

You know where your towel is.

You want someone to talk to about all things geeky.

You aren't a smoker, or intend to avoid it while around me.

You've made it to this sentence. No really, just do it.

PS: Feel free to IM me, coderanger@gmail.com on Jabber (read: Goggle Talk) or coderanger on Skype.

https://coderanger.net/contact.html shows how to find me just about anywhere else.

Currently quite happy romantically, if I message you I'm probably just looking for more nifty friends and folks to chatter with.