Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

cpwi37

26 M Pasadena, CA

My Details

Last Online
Apr 10
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Height
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Libra
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Student
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs
Speaks
English (Fluently), Chinese (Okay), Spanish (Poorly), Japanese (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Born and raised in the upper midwest, I moved to CA in 2010 for graduate school. I really, really miss snowy winters (that's not sarcastic).
What I’m doing with my life
At work I study the identities and lifestyles of bacteria that live on the seafloor. Oceanography leads to field work in exotic places all over the world. Field work sites have included Antarctica (2011) and Japan (2012, 2013), as well as more local sites like San Diego (2012).

I spent the summer of 2010 dedicating my time to a long-term family project, which is to build by hand a cabin on a 40-acre plot we have in the Northwoods of Wisconsin (surrounded on all sides by the Nicolet National Forest!). I grew up spending lots of time in our half-constructed cabin and have a developed taste for "camping with a roof." We have neither plumbing nor AC, neither electricity nor central heating. I love it.

I studied abroad in China in 2008 and what I miss more than anything else is the food. Some of the best meals I've ever eaten were in China. In what was a lucky sidenote to my study abroad, I attended the Beijing Olympics.

After grad school I see myself working in education. An ideal job would be working at a university's center for learning to help develop high-quality, engaging curricula. Alternatively, government civil service is attractive. I want to interact with and give back to communities, be that on the scale of students or citizens.
I’m really good at
I brew kombucha and enjoy experimenting with different flavors. Blueberry and mint are favorites. If you haven't tried kombucha, or have tried it and didn't like it, I encourage you to give it a(nother) shot!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I'll try any new food twice, and it's rare that I come across something I won't eat. Only once have I really paid the price for being an adventurous eater, and that ended up in a four night stay in a Japanese hospital. I enjoy cooking but have a few recipes that I stick to too much and don't experiment with new ones as often as I'd like.

It's difficult to name favorite books, but since I'm sitting in view of my bookshelf here are a few that I enjoy: Baudolino by Umberto Eco (historical fiction), Sea of Glory by Nathaniel Philbrick (historical nonfiction), and Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke (historical fantasy). I read daily, 30-40 minutes before bed most nights. I'm currently engrossed in Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn (fiction). Lights are usually out by 11:30.
The six things I could never do without
Something coming up to look forward to, changes in seasons, exercise, email, effort, proximity to family.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How I'm going to fit everything into the weekend that I need/want to do and still manage to get any R&R.
On a typical Friday night I am
Heading over to my brother's house to spend time with him, his wife, and their daughter. If not that, probably relaxing at home with my housemates. Partying is not my thing.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I tend to put a lot of time and emotional investment into new relationships right from the get-go, which has sometimes turned off partners who are looking to tread more slowly.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 26–31
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating
You should message me if
Your interests are diverse: you think that visiting an art museum and going backpacking for a weekend are both fun and worthwhile, each in their own way. You'd like doing some weekend road trips to explore national parks in the southwest.

In my ideal scenario, after grad school in LA (2016ish) I end up back in the upper Midwest permanently. Just FYI I'd consider it a big plus if my long-term partner shared that interest, but it's not a dealbreaker. Year by year, LA is growing on me.