Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

ctownbk

40 F Brooklyn, NY

My Details

Last Online
Today – 3:26am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Height
5′ 3″ (1.60m)
Body Type
Curvy
Diet
Smokes
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Judaism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Leo, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Other
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Okay), French (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I’m funny and outspoken, sometimes quiet and often thoughtful.
I consider myself an intellectual, with the occasional lowbrow sense of humor of the average 14 year old.
I don't party too much these days, but I'll make it out to ALL the summer concerts (and many of the winter ones too)

I can be quite parenthetic, tangential, superfluous and occasionally wicked corny. I get distracted. I believe that nobody's perfect, everyone is a work in progress, and that's just fine. I value subjectivity and humility, and hope that you do too.
I care about art and social justice, good food, culture and families.
I was born in the Bay Area. Seems important to say. I've been in Brooklyn since 2000.
I am exceptional. Date me.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm an adjunct teacher and freelance consultant and on the lookout for a steady full-time gig. I read, I volunteer, I meditate, I get out, I stay in.
I'd like to travel more, maybe live overseas for 6 mo to a year, maybe Mexico City.
I like to kick it in Brooklyn, go to the movies, ride a bike when the weather's nice, snuggle up when it's not. I like making crafty things, taking and making photos, collages, paintings, and reading. I do yoga regularly, eat healthy, occasionally hang out in a bar or music venue (though I quit drinking, I'm not uptight and I could care less if you do).
I’m really good at
cooking
baby whispering
teaching
writing
talking
feeling
The first things people usually notice about me
red hair and glasses? covered in freckles? accompanied by bike and backpack?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Loved The Wire, Project Runway, Breaking Bad, RuPaul's Drag Race. I've been doing the live streaming netflix thing more than watching TV recently, although I have fairly low standards as far as TV is concerned. I prefer comedy to other genres. The Goldbergs is OK. I watch (and keep up to date on current events thanks to) Colbert and Stewart. I listen to NPR.
My favorite food is avocado.
I regularly read New York Mag (though I let my subscription lapse). I love books by and about New York/ers (Auster), Beats (Kerouak, Burroughs), Russians (Lolita, Master and Margarita), short stories by Cheever or Carver. Loved Middlesex, Cavalier & Clay, Life of Pi, Oscar Wao, Freedom (Franzen), The Marriage Plot (Eugenides). Just finished Just Kids.

Some greatest Hits, music-wise: Talking Heads, Minutemen, Nick Drake, David Bowie, Stevie Wonder, ELO, Wilco, Elliott Smith, Fela, Nina Simone, Modern Lovers, Television, X, De La Soul, TV on the Radio, Manu Chau, Kool Keith, Bob Marley, Jay Z, Handsome Boy Modeling School, George Harrison, Devo, Cody Chestnutt, B52s, Built to Spill, Bad Brains, Dub, 80s, punk, disco, hip hop, classical, jazz. Recent new faves include TuneYards and Tame Impala
And Big Star! How could I have forgotten Big Star!

Things I like that aren't books, movies, music or food: parties, flea markets, antiques, museums and mellow bars, picknicking in Prospect Park, biking around the 'hood, beaches, woods and mountains, free concerts, block parties and hanging on the stoop in the summer.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
sex and death. the past and the future. meta-referentiality, postmodernism, the time space continuum, sampling, mashing and culture jamming, transnationalism, trans-anything really.

also, what do people mean when they say they're on here looking for "friends"?

I'm considering a move to Mexico City. Scratch that, I'm considering being a single mom and going to nursing school.

And, this: http://www.mediacoop.ca/blog/norasamaran/19018
On a typical Friday night I am
Hopefully out of the house, or in the house with people/person I like/love.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I can be quiet or introverted (but I snap out of it eventually), occasionally emotional, indecisive or self-conscious. Sometimes I feel old and out of it, but mostly I feel awesome and over-it.
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 35–47
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating
You should message me if
Have a warm smile and easy laugh. Be a deep thinker and deep feeler. Have an open heart.
The fact that I am a devoted and resolute feminist is not only not a problem to you, but an asset.
Have something to say, and put a modicum of effort into this. If you message me with some generic "Hi, How are you" It's likely that I'll think you didn't really read this and I'm highly unlikely to write you back. Just saying.
Be in the market for something moderately "serious”.
Hopefully be into kids – I’m aiming to have one soon.
I’m ultimately looking for something truly great – fun, egalitarian, future-oriented, groovy, realistic, fulfilling – all that. Anything short of amazing isn’t really worth a lot of my time. In other words, if you’re not going to rock my world, don’t rock my boat.