curlsallday
31 Palo Alto, CA
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
curlsallday
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a friendly, outgoing person who loves to dance, laugh, and exchange witty repartee. I'm ambitious and have a strong intellectual streak, but I'm pretty silly and sarcastic with my closest friends. I definitely inherited my grandma's ability to laugh at herself... and her actual laugh, for that matter. I have absolutely no poker face, which is probably both a weakness and a strength, but at least it means I'm easy to read!

I'm originally from LA but spent my formative years in Fresno. I first came to the Bay Area for college and I'm very grateful to be back here for graduate school. I'm on my way to getting a PhD in Sociology of Education. This is an area that I feel incredibly passionate about and love talking about with other people. I'm a strong advocate of social justice and hope my research will one day make schools a little better for underserved students. Perhaps not surprisingly, I find idealism and a good heart very attractive in others! "What's that? You want to make the world better? HOOOOTTT."

Other random facts for your amusement:
- I'm a fierce Taboo and Disney Trivia player, and I will crush you...
- I taught English in Peru for a year and I can tell you all about what it's like to have the water on your block completely shut off by 8:00pm every night.
- I'm bilingual and always enjoy opportunities to practice my Spanish!
What I’m doing with my life
I research schools for a living. It's the best :)

When I'm not working I like doing outdoor activities and enjoying the sun. Walking, hiking, biking, kayaking, laying out on the beach, picnicking, street fairs... Love all of them.
I’m really good at
dancing
working with kids
trying new recipes
forgetting where I put my keys
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm friendly and I smile and laugh a lot, so I guess (or at least hope) that's what people first notice about me.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: One Hundred Years of Solitude, Caramelo, Harry Potter, Pride and Prejudice, The Book Thief, Bossy Pants

Movies: Shakespeare in Love, The Departed, Fight Club, Bridget Jones' Diary, Motorcycle Diaries

TV: 30 Rock, House of Cards, Scandal, Modern Family, Mad Men

Music: My music choices are entirely dependent on my mood, but the Pandora channels I use the most are "Lost in My Mind" or "Corinne Bailey Rae" for working, "Michael Buble" or "Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong" for making breakfast on the weekend, and "Lady Gaga" or "Justin Timberlake"for working out or pre-partying.

Food: I eat pretty much everything, but Mexican food is probably my favorite because it tastes like home.
The six things I could never do without
Peanut butter (no jelly required)
My family
My friends (especially my "Dream Team" that's getting me through grad school!)
Dark chocolate
My morning cup of coffee
Inspiration
I spend a lot of time thinking about
what makes people tick underneath the surface; what will happen next on Downton Abbey; future international trips I want to take; how to make schools better; general goals and aspirations for the future (personal and professional)
On a typical Friday night I am
hanging out with friends for either a night in or night out.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I regularly sing in the shower. Ask any of my former roommates.
You should message me if
- you are looking for a serious relationship
- you are self-aware and know what you want from a partner and in life
- you are optimistic and happy in spirit
- you call a girl when she gives you her number (I always feel weird texting people I've never met)
More