Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

cypher1

38 M San Francisco, CA

My Details

Last Online
Apr 14
Orientation
Bisexual
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Not at all
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, and laughing about it
Sign
Virgo, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Technology
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Dislikes dogs
Speaks
English (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm here to eventually find a long-term male partner. But I don't expect to go directly from first date to commitment, so if we can have an enjoyable time together, that's all I'm looking for to start.
What I’m doing with my life
Making a more serious go at this dating thing or at least being more social in general. I can easily get caught up in a project and forget to leave the house for the weekend, and it's starting to dawn on me that I'd really be happier if I made a point to talk to people more :-)

I love playing music- I play keyboards well, bass guitar tolerably, and while I own a banjo I can't really claim to play it at all well. Although I'm making a renewed attempt to learn it. I've never been in a serious band that's gotten out of the rehearsal studio, although I do play out with a rather silly comedy band from time to time. I'll leave it at that (I need to have some mystery in this profile to be enticing, right?)

I've done a lot of researching and writing about comic book history, although that's on the back burner at the moment. They didn't keep great records when churning out cheap disposable entertainment 70+ years ago for some reason. Tracking stuff down is fun, and some of my writing is now getting published in print. I have about 30 short articles contributed to a very large project that should see print towards the end of 2014.

I work as a software engineer- I enjoy it and continue to push into new areas, but it's not the main driving force in my life. I try to strike a balance between a good forward-moving career and having enough time to pursue other things like music and writing about comics. And a social life.

I keep switching my label here between "bi" and "gay", which does not reflect any particular change in me. "Bi" is technically more accurate, but I'm not here to find girls so sometimes I get tired of OKCupid sending me more F than M recommendations and switch it to "gay". Long-term, I'm more interested in guys, but really I stopped trying to pin down my sexuality a long time ago.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Food:

No particular food but when it comes to beverages I love tea! Pretty much all varieties from delicate whites to earthy pu-erhs. I have decided I need to stop buying tea and just drink what I have as I recently realized that I have at least small quantities of about 30 different teas.

Books:

I mostly read comics these days, with a smattering of non-fiction, typically while in airports :-)
Favorite comics include: The Invisibles (Grant Morrison), Watchmen (Alan Moore), Little Nemo in Slumberland (Winsor McCay, mostly for the glorious artwork although the comic strip plots are quite entertaining), Planetary (Warren Ellis), Phonogram (Gillen and McKelvie) and various more mainstream superhero guilty pleasures.

Music:

The Velvet Underground, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, David Bowie, The Arcade Fire, Radiohead, Bob Dylan, King Crimson, The Rolling Stones (especially late 60's-early 70's era), The New Pornographers, The National, The Walkmen.
The six things I could never do without
Friends
Music
Reading material of some sort
that's about it, really
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What to do next. The last few years involved a lot of change and instability, and now that that's largely settled (much for the better) I'm trying to figure out how to best spend my time. It would certainly be nice to have someone else to spend it with.
On a typical Friday night I am
Sometimes out with friends, and sometimes home reading or working on a project.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Hm... well, I am wearing latex in my profile pic... and I have some nice leather outfits as well. I have a sense of humor about it all, though, so don't be scared off :-)
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like guys
  • Ages 32–45
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating