Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

dachte

36 Brooklyn, NY Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 28–35
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Today – 8:34pm
Orientation
Bisexual
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 1″ (1.85m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Strictly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism
Sign
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Technology
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), German (Okay), Spanish (Okay), Japanese (Poorly), French (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I spend a lot of time thinking and making sure I have enough time and different inputs to make that the primary source of fulfillment in my life. An input might be a book or a cultural event, an online news source, a song or tune. It might be a good conversation. I make sure my life is never particularly busy or scheduled so if I have a thought I want to explore it's not too much hassle to jot it down somewhere and explore it later that day (or at worst, later that week). I arrange my life around these two goals.

I'm pretty hard-nosed *for* science (was a researcher), and spirituality is not my thing. We can get all the wonder and beauty we need through science, art, and philosophy. I'm very suspicious of spirituality (particularly yoga - isn't that the new transcendental meditation fad?).

INT(J/P). Lots of emphasis on the introversion - if I'm around a lot of people one day, I'll be taking long walks in the park or reading quietly for the next few days. I also don't make new friends very often/easily.

Once I'm comfortable conversing with someone, I talk a lot. I have a lot of opinions and stances, I judge people on theirs, and I expect them to judge me on mine.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I'm trying to live an intellectual life. Lots of reading, writing, blogging, teaching, and museum-visiting. I try to learn new things (e.g. knitting) every so often. I'm still figuring life out.

I go to a lot of meetups on various topics. I have endless creative and technical projects, many of which are left unfinished. I sometimes grab things in the park for my microscope.

I'm a techie and I sometimes teach classes on programming, Unix, and SQL. Moderately into a lot of geek culture, but also mainstream culture.

I'm a programmer at an NYC-based tech company you won't've heard of if you're not a geek. I worked at Carnegie-Mellon University for ten years, where I (among other things) did FMRI-based neuropsychology/cognitive psychology research.

I'm moderately involved in the secular movement, some scientific circles, and occasionally attend scifi/geek/gaming conventions.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Philosophy. Programming. Maybe teaching? Debate? Staying intellectually stimulated. Hopefully keeping my cats healthy/happy.

I'm not particularly competitive, I don't mind changing my mind when a good argument or new information presents itself (but I can be pretty stubborn on intellectual topics otherwise), and I don't generally take differences personally. I don't generally expect people around me to behave perfectly, and I'm pretty understanding when they don't.

I'm really bad at
Enthusiasm, particularly cheering. Meeting new people. Avoiding TL;DR with people I converse with. Remembering events that are not on my calendar. Keeping in touch with popular culture.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm tall, my hair's pretty curly, and I am probably lost in thought, or possibly lost in a book. The latter two occasionally see me walking into things.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: I read a lot of philosophy and am fond of John Rawls. I'm particularly interested in philosophy of jurisprudence. In fiction, I like Haruki Murakami, Salman Rushdie, and Milan Kundera. I also read some academic journals, particularly those relating to foreign events and neuropsychology, but also more generally in the sciences. I'm not above the occasional trashy fantasy novel, and Lovecraft is fun reading too.

Movies: Hitchcock, Lars von Trier, Jan Svankmajer, Woody Allen, and Mel Brooks are my top 5; I like interesting, intelligent, complicated films, ideally with a wicked sense of humour. I'm not bothered by subtitles.

I sometimes watch Wuxia and Bollywood films too, occasionally some Anime (Serial Experiments Lain is fantastic) and some comedy-horror. I enjoy really bad movies, with the help of MST3k or raw. I've seen RHPS over a hundred times.

My two favourite films are "Le Dîner de Cons" and "Direktøren for det hele". Recently I enjoyed "Nebraska", "The Bothersome Man", "Die Wand", and "Postal".

Shows: When I make it home, I usually queue up a bunch of stuff on Youtube (Chromecast FTW!), including the most recent White House Press Conference, maybe an Intelligence Squared debate, and a smattering of other stuff like QI and Mock the Week. I have Netflix for older stuff; I liked pre-remake Doctor Who, MST3k, and Deep Space 9. I don't follow and am generally not familiar with anything that's on TV right now, or am at least a few seasons behind.

Shows (the other kind): I try to see G&S and Wagner whenever I can, and otherwise enjoy on- and off-broadway productions. I recently enjoyed seeing "No Man's Land".

Music: Dar Williams, Fiona Apple, Firewater, Balkan Beat Box, Plaid Tongued Devils, VNV Nation, Vienna Teng, Bad Religion, Panorama Jazz Band, Oingo Boingo, Molly Lewis, Die Prinzen, Splin, Tom Lehrer, Phil Ochs, Scott Joplin

A few favourite songs:
Fiona Apple - Paper Bag
Dar Williams - Iowa
Avril Lavigne - My Happy Ending
Celtas Cortos - Retales de una Vida
EdnaSwap - Trivial
Emiliana Torrini - Dead Things

Food: I don't eat meat. At home I make Avocado rolls, stews, pancakes, and rice/bean burritos. I also eat a lot of fruit. When out I tend towards Indian and Mediterranean food but also like a good sandwich. Occasionally I'll take the long trip into NJ to get Wawa subs.

Drink: Tea. Lots of tea. Some of which I get shipped from other countries. Lapsang Souchong in the winter, White and Yellow tea in the summer. Sometimes Guayusa, Rooibos, or other tisanes. I don't drink alcohol often (triggers migraines) and when I do it's mostly white wine or cider; I dislike the taste/smell of beer.

Comedy: Dara o'Briain, Frankie Boyle, Lewis Black, Steven Wright, Sarah Silverman. I like my comedy dark, irreverent, and "offensive".
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Laptop, pen and paper, travel budget, bare necessities for life, time to think, access to something resembling nature.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Just about everything. Meaning in life, motivation, brains, societies, norms, fixing activism, fixing supper, how blind people might program, ....

I once had a list of my particular kinks on my profile here, but then I decided it's kinda weird to know that about someone before you even communicate with them, and I took them down. I sometimes second-guess that decision (hey, maybe there are people out there who are looking for people with those interests and it'd push my profile from a "maybe" to a "I should say hi to this person"), but then I second-guess a lot of decisions in life. Endlessly. I tend to overthink things, often at the expense of actually doing things unless those things urgently need to get done. Fortunately, eventually I get distracted by science or philosophy or other things again.

An interesting writing prompt for you: "Language is or is not the greatest technological achievement of humanity as of yet".
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
It's probably better just to list some of my optional evening activities. Coffeeshops, lectures, meetups, going for a walk, going for a jog in the park, indian food.

On weekends sometimes I take day trips to Philadelphia or other cities or spend hours wandering through a museum or two, but otherwise it's more of the same.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My politics are a very unlikely combination of things, and tend not to win me favours. Some of this is because I've meandered over the political map as I was growing up and I've kept a few positions from those earlier times as I've moved on. Also, I've learned that politics are entwined with culture, and views on "what laws should be", "what we owe each other", "how we should treat each other", and "discipline versus nurture versus neglect" usually but don't necessarily imply each other. If I just didn't care, or would just be quiet about what I think, my life would be a lot simpler, but I've never been willing to do that, and that's driven people away - not a great thing for someone who's introverted and shy to begin with.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
I'm primarily looking for a relationship. I may be open to other things if I'm not in one, but that's not what I'm mainly here for.

I want an equal to share most of my life with - someone to challenge me, with whom build bridges between our rich mental lives, to chat endlessly about significant and insignificant things, and a partner for endless activities. I'm looking for emotional and intellectual closeness. It's important to me that my partner be educated, intellectual, and not a pushover.

Maybe I'll teach you to code and you'll teach me a foreign language, or we'll take a refresher class together on biochemistry at AMNH. The learning cannon should be firing randomly between us, at us, from us.

I want variety in activity but not to be busy most of the time. I keep several nights free a week either to chill or to let unscheduled things happen. I'd like a partner that lives the same way. Occasionally I'd be better being nagged into doing things that I might not do myself, and a good partner would probably do that, offer emotional support, etc. I try to be a good partner too.

Add a photo to:

Stay fresh with Instagram

Are you sure you want to delete this album?

Where's your photo?

Drop it like it’s hot

Photos must be at least 400 x 400px
Edit thumbnail
Add a caption

You look fantastic!