Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

dagibbs

46 M Ottawa, Ontario, CA

My Details

Last Online
Aug 21
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 11″ (1.80m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, and laughing about it
Sign
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Technology
Income
$100,000–$150,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t want kids
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm a computer-geek rock-climber from Canada. I travel a lot for work, read a fair bit, and am inordinately proud of the fact that I don't own a television.

Rock climbing, board games, Scotch, and ballroom dancing are my current passions.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Living it. Working to live and play. Paying off my mortgage.

For the last few years, I've taken to rock climbing, and have started doing climbing vacations. I've done a couple trips to El Potrero Chico in Mexico (2009, 2012), have climb in the Swiss Alps (2009), Red Rocks and Joshua Tree (2012), the High Sierras (2013), and various shorter trips to places in the northeast such as Rumney, Whitehorse Ledge, The Adirondacks, and the Gunks. I also get out weekends during the summer around the Ottawa area, and during the week, if not traveling for work, Tuesday and Thursday evenings I climb at Coyote rock gym.

I'm taking dance lessons, ballroom (Foxtrot, Tango, Rhumba, etc) and Latin (east coast Swing, Salsa, etc.). I'd like to get more dancing in, possibly finding a good dance partner.

I also tend to play a lot of boardgames, and I own something over 150 of them. (And the collection continues to grow. I have a board game geek account, and the list of games at http://www.boardgamegeek.com/collection/user/dagibbs?own=1&ff=1 is generally up to date.) When I'm not out of town for some reason (work, vacation, climbing), I'll tend to host board gaming get-togethers one day a weekend.

Oh, and drinking port. Good port. Often with friends. Because, really, if you've got a bottle (or 3 or 5) of good port, that's far better if shared with friends than drunk alone. It lasts too long when its just you, and the good stuff does tend to lose its character over time. (Though, a moderate port can survive quite well for a month or two.) I also have something of a collection of single malt Scotch, too.

Trying to avoid spending too much money at Il Bolero.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Games, particularly strategy and quickly learning new ones, and how to win them. Technical training (about QNX). Programming in C. Hm...how strong a modifier is "really"? Does it mean "very", or does it mean "actually"? I'm good at rollerblading and skating, skiing (downhill and cross-country), Go, Bridge, technical writing, listening, typing, reading, technical support, and more.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Beard and long-hair. Enthusiasm. My laugh.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
a) too many too count or name for different reasons, but a lot of SF & Fantasy. (Some favourite authors include Lois McMaster Bujold, Steven Brust, Walter Jon Williams, Harlan Ellison, Laurell K. Hamilton, and C. S. Friedman.) b) none. I don't see many movies, and don't have any particular favourites. c) Jethro Tull, Queen d) Ethnic: Indian, Thai, Chinese, Mexican when I'm in the south-western U.S. and can get good Mexican.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Never?

Food, air, water, appropriate shelter from the elements, other people. Really that's about it.

Less literally, but still serious:

friends, family, love, board games, reading material, high-speed internet, vertical rock
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
- how to best present the technical information I need to teach

- how to beat the crux on my latest climbing challenge

- dance sequences, so I can remember how to lead them properly

- where/when my next rock climbing trip will be
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Friday night is one of my most variable of nights, where I don't have a typical Friday night.

Some things that do occur: throwing a party, at a party thrown by friends, travelling in some way (out of town for the weekend, or coming home from a business trip), dinner with friends, out dancing, picking a friend up at the airport, etc. I might even be at home doing laundry.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm poly. That is, I believe in having honest, ethical, fully-disclosed non-monogamous (open) relationships.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 18–99
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You're open to a having an open relationship, or are interested in inquiring about or discussing non-traditional relationship structures.

If you think motorcycles are cool, ride, or are interested in learning to ride, or just like being a passenger.

If you want to go rock climbing. Especially in the Ottawa area.

If you're interested in getting together for board games.

You're interested in ballroom or swing dancing, and looking for a dance partner. Either to just go out and dance, or to learn with/from.

Or, if you feel like it, because, that's what really matters.