Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

dang28

46 M Baltimore, MD

My Details

Last Online
Today – 4:09am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 9″ (1.76m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Judaism, and laughing about it
Sign
Gemini, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Job
Medicine
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, and doesn’t want any
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Hmmm, how to keep this as a summary and not a full lengthy bio...

I guess that I'd have to say that I'm in a transition mode now and may be for a while. After more than 20 years in the restaurant business and numerous attempts to get out of it I may have found what I'm looking for. I'm at the beginning of the path towards a nursing degree/career (more about that in the next section).

I've moved around a good bit. Lived in Vail, Colorado for a winter 20 years ago (ugh, I swear it doesn't seem that long ago) and Austin, Texas from 1995 to 2000. Not to mention a few different places here in Maryland. I wasn't born here in Baltimore but we moved her literally on my first birthday and for all its rough edges I really do like the city...hmmm, maybe it's because of its rough edges that I like it.

I used to be really into running and triathlons and have some accomplishments that I am very pround of, I was never a speed demon but I got to run in some exciting events. I still run casually (read: when I feel like it and the weather is nice) and ride my bike a lot.

So on Match.com (yep, I'm on there too) they allow you to search with in a 5 mile radius and that's sort of my comfort range. Here on OKC the minimum is 25 miles. For a number of reasons I'd like to date someone close to me. Basically what I'm saying is that if you don't live within the city limits I'm not sure that there would be much potential for a relationship. I'm not sure how I feel about that as I very well could be ignoring a potentially good match but for now that seems like how I'm going to have to play it.

I think of myself as pretty high on the self-awareness scale and also as a constant work in progress. I'd say I'm pretty happy with my life but that doesn't mean that I shouldn't keep looking at it and keep trying to improve it.
What I’m doing with my life
For essentially my entire adult life I have worked in the restaurant business. I have from time to time tried to find some other line of work that interests me to no avail. I think finally I may have found something else that interests me though and in the fall of 2011 I started volunteering at University of Maryland's Shock Trauma Center to see if I was interested in and could handle a job in such a setting. Turns out I am interested and can handle it and as of November 2012 I'm a trauma tech in the Trauma Resuscitation Unit at Shock Trauma. Now I need to start working on my prerequisites for nursing school. Besides that...I don't know, trying to meet new and interesting people here, getting rid of crap I no longer need, denying the fact that I need reading glasses, cooking, baking, thinking about a new pet, oh and who know what else.
I’m really good at
Telling whether a picture on the wall is level...without a level
Baking
Changing a bike flat
Listening (really good...eh, maybe just pretty good but working on it)
Being honest
Fitting all the (physical) things I care about into what I call "My Manhattan Apartment" 400 square feet on the first floor of an old house in Bolton Hill.
Like a lot of men, I'm good at solving problems but like fewer men I'm pretty good at knowing when not try to solve the problem.
The first things people usually notice about me
Hmmm, my smile, maybe my legs if they're looking there and I'm in shorts (cyclist's calves), my hair and that it might be really messy.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Movies...I don't know if I could come up with just a few. It tends to take me some time to see new releases, I dig old movies (40's, 50's, 60's old) comedies of course, dramas and even some cheesy action films. Ask me about my movie "career" because those 2 are in my favorite list. Shows: Breaking Bad, Downton Abbey, Luther, Flight of the Conchords. Food: pizza (especially when I make it), Thai, Tex-Mex, sushi, Chinese, vegetarian, olives, olives, olives, good bread, cheese. Books: It's been a while since I set out to do this but I have a list of the books I should have read in high school but didn't really. I've read a few...they're awesome, who knew? I want so to be a reader of books and will some day but for now I tend to be a reader of articles. Music: wow, I'm all over the place with that...here, in no particular order is some of the stuff that I listen too (both bands and genres):
Old 97's
Imelda May
Hot Club of Cowtown
Django Rheinhart
Ray Charles
Volbeat
Rock-a-Billy
Bluegrass
Old Country (not what you'd hear on the radio today)
Classical (A friend recently got me into chamber music, as opposed to full symphonies...still learning about that)
Some of my favs from my punk rock days of the 80's
cheesy 80's stuff too
Lots more but thats enough for now...or maybe too much for now.
The six things I could never do without
olives, travel, my bicycle, tasty meals, a news source, nap time

Ok, I could live without olives but I really, really like them so I'd just rather not live without them.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I think about me in a self-improvement kind of way not an egotistical kind of way, politics and current events, and really most importantly when the next seasons of Downton Abbey and Breaking Bad are going to be released!!
On a typical Friday night I am
If I have something to do that's interesting enough to brave the crowds I'll do it but I won't just go out to go out. 20 years in the restaurant business so I don't necessarily like a crowded bar or restaurant for relaxing. I have sort of a strange work schedule so Friday nights don't have the same sort of "the weekend is here" feel for me as they do for some and so I'm comfortable relaxing at home and cooking myself a tasty dinner.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
THE most, no...some private things about me I actually like some chic flicks and might even get a bit teary eyed at them.

I pick my nose!
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 40–50
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You're not looking for just another average guy.
If you never ate at another chain restaurant you'd be perfectly fine with that.
You're confident enough to message me and not just wait until I make the first move.