Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

danrubin

37 London, UK Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 24–34
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating, casual sex

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 4:58am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 1″ (1.86m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Scorpio, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Job
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Honest, often to a fault. Dreamer, traveler, designer, photographer, and, so I've been told, teller of stories. I enjoy helping people figure themselves out, but haven't always been great at turning that mirror on myself...

Born in Miami Beach to an American dad and an English mum, I grew up in the tropics, but always felt like that wasn't where I was meant to be. Finally moved to England full-time last summer to start a new chapter, possibly even an entirely new book.

Over the last 4 years, I've split my time living between Florida and England (mostly Newcastle) — now that I've left the U.S. I've set my sights on the South (a little outside London for now) as my first stop before I decide where to go next. I don't have a place I want to call 'home' yet, which is both terrifying and amazingly freeing, at least for a little while...
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Traveling, teaching, exploring; trying to improve the world through design, and capturing it all on one camera or another.

And if you find yourself wondering "Where do I recognise him from?" it's likely Instagram: @danrubin (so you know I'm not some weird stalker-with-a-camera :)

There's so much to figure out, so much to discover, so many places to see and things to do, and I'm trying to get better at doing more of all of it.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
...some things, but not everything. People have been known to accuse me of being a good singer, photographer, designer, writer, or teacher, and occasionally all of the above.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Strangely (to me at least), that my teeth are nice and white, and that I look like Ben Stiller (even more so since Walter Mitty, hopefully because of all the travel and photography). Sometimes, people comment on my height (although, really, 6'1" isn't extraordinarily tall).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books, films, shows, and music: Far too many to list, and varied enough that a list wouldn't tell you much about me. What's more important is *why* they are my favourites, and you'll need to ask me that :)

That said, I ought to list a few favourites, in no particular order: Good Omens, Neverwhere, Ender's Game, The Alchemist, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy; The Fifth Element, The Grand Budapest Hotel, Star Wars (IV–VI), Inception, The Princess Bride; Lost, Homeland, House of Cards, Battlestar Galactica, Archer; The Beatles, The Beach Boys (Heroes and Villians, seriously), The Hi-Lo's, Elton John, Billy Joel.

Also, why doesn't OKCupid include 'Theatre' in the question? Contributing to the cultural wasteland...

Food: I'm a sucker for an amazing Eggs Benedict (and pretty much any other egg-related breakfast). Finding good burgers outside of the US has also proven a nice challenge, though the London burger scene is doing a top job so far (Burger & Lobster = one of the best I've ever had).

Some of my favourite meals in the last 5 years have been in specific parts of the world, which may tell you more than the dishes themselves: Auckland, the Côte d'Azur, Zurich, Miami Beach.

Drinks: I'm (minorly) allergic to hops and sulphites, so don't invite me to a beer and wine bar unless you're ok with me having water...

Luckily, these allergies have lead me to discover alternate categories of fine alcohol beverages — namely, whiskey (Single Malt Scotch and bourbon, preferably) and Port (tawny, ruby, and white), as well as a healthy interest in spiced rum (can't grow up in the tropics without it).

If you're a whiskey drinker, we shall get along just fine; if not, I won't judge you for it :)
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
A camera, a big bed, high water pressure in my shower, sunshine*, love, and music.

*Yes, I'm fully aware that the UK doesn't offer much in this category (same for water pressure, sadly). I've spent half of my time in England over the last 4 years before moving here, so I knew what I was getting myself into... it also means I'll likely live somewhere warmer, eventually.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
All the things.

Also: How the hell does OKC calculate friend/enemy percentages, and can we *actually* trust the results and/or the source data everyone provides?
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
There's no such thing as a typical Friday night, nor any other night of the week.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm willing to admit a lot in person. Direct questions lead to direct answers :)
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You want to have a meaningful discussion about absolutely anything; you're not afraid of having your photo taken; the idea of picking apart a restaurant's menu because of its typesetting doesn't seem terribly weird to you.

...or if you just feel like it would pass the time. I'm flexible ;)

Add a photo to:

Stay fresh with Instagram

Are you sure you want to delete this album?

Where's your photo?

Drop it like it’s hot

Photos must be at least 400 x 400px
Edit thumbnail
Add a caption

You look fantastic!