Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

dately

59 M Venice, CA

My Details

Last Online
Today – 2:40am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Sign
Libra, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Politics / Government
Income
$100,000–$150,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has kids
Pets
Has dogs
Speaks
English (Fluently), Russian (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I grew up in the suburbs of New York City. My father created ad campaigns on Madison Avenue for the movie industry, so I guess That makes me the child of Mad Men. My tribe is the New York Jewish non-religious socialist artsy intellectual self-deprecating crowd. Every summer our extended family gathers for a week-long re-union on Fire Island, off of Long Island, where there are plenty deer and bicycles and 30 miles of beach, but no cars. This is where my roots are. I spent some years in Berkeley and Boston and Woodstock and Portland and Seattle before finally moving to LA to marry a woman who was living there. And here I settled.
What I’m doing with my life
My career has been in left-wing politics. Currently, I am a leader of a large, progressive public sector labor union in Southern California. Other than that, I hang out with friends, my sons (who are living with their mother in Venice), and my Bull Terrier, Dino. My marriage ended 12 years ago (well, technically/legally we separated 12 years ago). Since then I have had several meaningful romantic relationships, two of which originated online.

After spending the last 25 years in Venice/Santa Monica I moved up to Topanga Canyon last year. I love to walk on the trails or at the beach, with or without Dino. I enjoy the cultural culture stuff that LA has to offer. Last night, for example, I was at the Hollywood Bowl - one of my favorites - for the Wilco/Joanna Newsome concert.

On Sunday mornings I play basketball in Santa Monica with a group of mostly 50 and even 60-something doctor and lawyer types. Then it's off to get bagels.
I’m really good at
I pride myself on my range: I am good on the basketball court and at the chess board and with words, especially rhymes. I am a sometime poet and quirky white rapper.

I wish I was a better father.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Movies that I liked this year: Searching for Sugar Man, The Master, A Separation, Beasts of the Southern Wild....

Movies that I confess I've watched multiple times when they come on tv: Notting Hill, As Good as it Gets, Four Weddings and a Funeral, The Big Lebowski, Midnight Run, A Few Good Men...

Recent good reads: Cloud Atlas, Cryptonomicon, Shadow of the Wind, The Singularity is Near, The New Yorker....

Music: Elvis Costello, Tom Waits, Lucinda Williams, Van Morrison, the Grateful Dead...you get the idea. A band I like a lot lately is The Hold Steady.
The six things I could never do without
walks outdoors
screens
I prefer to be near a body of water
city life
trees
human companions
On a typical Friday night I am
These days I am spending a lot of time with my sons, who may not be in LA much longer - restaurants, movies, whatever.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 43–59
  • Near me
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
your avatar likes my avatar