davveran
32 New York, NY
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
davveran
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I was born and raised in NYC and recently returned after living away for several years, including some time in Buenos Aires and Bogotá. I'm very close to my family and I love to learn. I like reading about a big range of topics, going to museums, trying new kinds of food, traveling, and learning about different cultures. I studied philosophy as an undergrad at Yale and have an MBA from Harvard. For work, I invest in real assets in Latin America.
What I’m doing with my life
I work at a private equity fund where I try cooking up interesting new deals. I'm also very interested in social enterprises and work on a few on the side.
I’m really good at
Learning languages, writing, and playing pool. I've also been told I'm a good listener and that I make people feel comfortable.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: The Better Angels of our Nature, Gödel's Proof, Conjectures and Refutations, Infidel, Thinking Fast and Slow, Gödel Escher Bach, The Fabric of Reality, Pale Blue Dot, The Selfish Gene
Movies: Pan's Labyrinth, Life is Beautiful, Avatar, Jiro Dreams of Sushi
Music: Seu Jorge, Mariza (Fado), Cesaria Evora, Pavarotti, Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan
Food: I like most foods
The six things I could never do without
Family
Friends
Books
Passport
Job
A good cause
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The distant past and future of humanity, the relationship between math and the physical world, human nature, love, the brain and mind, work.
On a typical Friday night I am
I usually try having dinner with my grandma on Friday nights (she's 86 and loves to cook for me). After that, sometimes I meet up with old classmates at a bar.
You should message me if
If you're open-minded, driven, confident, and like new experiences.
More