Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

dharmaquest

56 M Peyton, CO

My Details

Last Online
Aug 18
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 11″ (1.80m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Buddhism, and very serious about it
Sign
Sagittarius, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from law school
Job
Law
Income
$100,000–$150,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has a kid
Pets
Has dogs and has cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Thank you for visiting my profile.

You will find that I am a very diverse person. I am a lawyer and business consultant; volunteer fireman and EMT-I; recently retired as a LTC in the National Guard; hold a Master's degree in Buddhist Studies besides my law degree; live on an 80 acre horse farm -- with a large greenhouse, chickens for eggs, and a large garden area. Ordained as a Buddhist Minister, I also volunteer as a chaplain in Colorado prisons. I love Orient Land Trust and the hot springs there; scuba, climbing, hiking and skiing are interests; I want to learn yoga.

Politically, I am the token Democrat in eastern El Paso County, Colorado. I am fairly liberal and progressive in my orientation.

12/8/2013
Please, if you are here because I wrote to you or I visited your page, please at least drop me a line - even if to say "Hi, not interested". I find it so frustrating that I will read profiles and find someone I think is a good fit, only to never hear a reply. So, please drop me a line.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Today, I am trying to develop a business, Kanthaka Group, a law practice. At any given time, my pager may go off and out the door I go to a fire or a medical emergency -- helping my neighbors in crisis. Then, at other times, its off to a prison to help offenders with their spiritual needs. Then there is caring for my dogs, horses, llamas and chickens. When I am driving down the highway, there are either Spanish or Thai langauge CD's in the player and I am trying to learn.

In those quiet moments -- yes I have a few -- I am trying to figure out an ultimate direction really; and, would love to have someone else in that process. Do I turn the farm into a Dharma Center and Animal Rescue? Should I become and expat and experience other cultures? Get involved with a disaster relief organization and travel to the World's trouble spots? Develop business interests here in the States? The possibilities are endless. But, the common denominator is whatever I do, it would be much more enjoyable with someone by my side, sharing the adventure.

In the world of romance, I guess I am seeking a "unicorn". Yes, I may be on the quest for a unicorn -- but, I believe that unicorn is out there.

I am looking for someone that understands that in a relationship there will be hard times and good times; that financial security is nice, but with emotional security together you can tackle any issue; that working together on shared goals is not work, but time spent joined in a common goal.

I enjoy travel; to experience new cultures. I write and present papers at conferences; it's one way to travel less expensively. I live a life dedicated to helping others and serving my community -- locally and globally. Spiritually, I consider my service to others part of my practice. I want someone that will share a sense of compassion and selfless service. Someone that wants to travel and explore. Someone that wants to share a dream and devote energy to it.

I lead an active lifestyle, so I want someone that is fit and trim. This isn't being shallow, its simply a necessity. It is hard to trek, ski, SCUBA, climb, etc. if you are overweight. So, my unicorn must be athletic to average build -- BBW, etc, just won't work for romance - but as a friend all are welcome.

The unicorn I seek will love the country life, I live on a farm. Dogs, horses, cats, llamas and chickens. The unicorn I seek will understand it takes time to realize dreams.

I hold several advanced degrees. My faith is important to me.

My unicorn will be passionate about life and about love. She will be open to adventure; feel good in her skin; be outgoing, compassionate, mindful and wise.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
just about anything I try. And, if it doesn't come to me at first, then I will work at it really hard until I can master it. The one exception -- I have little affinity for foreign languages -- but I keep trying.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Music -- just about anything but rap, industrial, and other unintelligible sounds.
Food -- Anything ethnic.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
In no particular order:
Blueberries
My friends
My dogs and horses
Opportunities to help others
The love of an adventureous and dedicated woman
My daughter
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Buddhism and how its principles can be applied to matters of everyday life.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Then it wouldn't be private. Let's just leave at that I am more complex than one may think and I may have some rather interesting pursuits.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 35–55
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating