Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


47 Albany, NY Woman


Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 30-50
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Jan 28
Queer, Lesbian
5' 9" (1.75m)
Body Type
Average build
Atheism and laughing about it
Post grad
Might want kids
Has cats
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
How does one summarize years of experiences and emotions and struggles and victories into flat text form? The inquisitive mind of a Socrates? The fierce heart of a loyal black lab? The wizened gaze of a veteran of the psychic wars? A hopeless romantic? A steely-eyed explorer of life's far-strewn paths?

By day I'm a virtual academic librarian. I work with and teach adult, distance learners how to think critically and analyze the barrage of information that floods our senses all day every day. I like to think of it as helping citizens of democracy realize their potential as citizens of truth.

When not working, or constructing really piss-poor alliterations, I love outdoors activities like camping, kayaking, hiking, running, live music, going out to local restaurants and odd events. I have two adorable little cats. I am distinctly not superstitious and cross my one black cat's path on purpose just to prove my point. I'm an avid reader (science fiction and graphic novels especially) and all-around semi-geek (again science fiction, video gaming, comic books, board games, etc.). I am not a genius with any of these hobbies because I like variety too much to focus strictly on any one.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Experiencing it - trying to relish every moment; live in the present. I don't always succeed, but I try. In many ways, I've rebooted my life and am starting from scratch. I have a career that I'm passionate about and damn good at, but most everything else I am experimenting with; exploring opportunities to learn new things and meet interesting people.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Finding needles in haystacks! Hence, I'm a librarian. But I do have other talents, such as an uncanny ability to form run-on sentences that contain lots of parentheses and semi-colons, but at the same time having a knack, when I have time, for whittling sentences down to their most basic and concise meanings. Oh, I'm pretty decent at arguing, too. My friends might describe it as "playing the f-ing devil's advocate, AGAIN?". Not the bad kind of arguments, mind you; the civil, intelligent, "always look at both sides of the coin" kinds...
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My eyes. My candor.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Cyberpunk and other science fiction (William Gibson, Neal Stephenson, Dan Simmons, Philip K. Dick); modern and classic lit (Margaret Atwood, Paul Auster, Faulkner, Dostoevsky) and comics and graphic novels (anything well written and illustrated!).

Anything with a good plot and that provokes thought and emotion (Waking Life, Lost in Translation, Hedwig and the Angry Inch, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon). I do like sci-fi and horror, of course, but also romantic comedies, drama, indie films, you name it. I'm also a bit of a Joss Whedon crazy - I adore Buffy, Firefly, Angel, Dr. Horrible.

Musically, I'm mostly into rock, punk and blues: John Lee Hooker, Royal Blood, The Black Keys, Clutch, Cat Power, Le Tigre, Sleater-Kinney, Jason Webley, The Kills, Fugazi, Iron and Wine, Queens of the Stone Age, and PJ Harvey, to name just a few.

Food-wise, I like to try new things and prefer local restaurants. I dislike the chains. I have a weakness for good sushi, Mexican, Indian and Thai food.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Summer vacation on a lakeside beach, something good to read, good music, a gym, Mexican food, and nearby access to some kind of wilderness.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
what I should best spend my free time thinking about. Other than that, there are too many amazing and interesting things going on in the world to focus on any one for too long.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Curled up at home catching up on a week's worth of The Daily Show and planning what kind of shenanigans I can get into Saturday night after my first night of full sleep in a week (ya punk, you heard me right, I said SHENANIGANS!).
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm a transwoman, and I'm not afraid to talk about it, although that is just a small sliver of who I am. You can read more of my dirty little secrets on my blog, if you wish (research assignment!: look for "The Disobedient Librarian").
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
you seek wide ranging, open-minded conversation, seek a friend to try out just about any new experience with, or even just if the mood strikes you...