Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

divinityhulk

34 M Claremont, CA

I’m looking for

  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 25–36
  • Located anywhere
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Today – 5:06am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 6″ (1.98m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Christianity
Sign
Gemini, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Education
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Okay), Russian (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I was once given the nickname I'm using here by a pseudo-senile choir director who couldn't remember my name. What he did remember was that I studied divinity (aka religion) and that I am a very tall man. In many ways it's a name that's perfect for me. I'm the classic gentle giant...a deep thinker, a world traveler and someone who wants to spend his life trying to figure out ways to be more human.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Just moved back to LA after spending 6 years in the Boston area for grad school and a post-grad fellowship. I'm in the process of becoming an ordained minister, but don't worry...I'm about as liberal, progressive and open-minded as it gets. In fact, it's my faith that inspires me to be all of those things. I guess you could say I'm on a mission to remind people that faith and intellect aren't mutually exclusive.

I'm fascinated by the ways that religion intersects with politics and the media and dream of one day having my own show/website/organization that helps illuminate how and why all those things fit together.

When I'm not ensconced in studying for ordination exams, I'm usually out with friends or indulging my life passions - sports, food, travel, music primarily.

Large scale sports events are holidays for me and I tend to organize groups to celebrate appropriately. The last big one was an Opening Ceremony party for the Olympics with a British-inspired menu and Project Runway-esque commentary.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Cooking: I was practically raised in the kitchen by a self-taught gourmet cook and artisan bread baker. Pizza making has become a specialty for me - both thin crust and Chicago style. I've also gotten into bread baking in the last couple years. I think I'm about to turn the corner on mastering rye bread. Fingers crossed!

Listening: I've been told that I'm a great listener and I believe that there's no more intimate and powerful act of friendship or kindness than being present to another human being.

Travel planning

I also make a mean bloody mary.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm 6'6", which has meant a lifetime's worth of people asking me if I play basketball. That used to annoy me, but thankfully, I'm okay with it now. And for the record, I did play basketball. Now I really want to transition into some racquet sports that I could get into for a good long while.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Reading is a big part of my life. It helps me stay rooted in the best, grounded in the present and inspired for the future. I try to keep up on the New Yorker, with an emphasis on try. I scan The New York Times first thing every morning. And I usually have a book that I'm working through as well. At the moment, I'm reading Nick Hornby's "Fever Pitch" after making my first pilgrimage to an English soccer match.

My musical tastes can be pretty eclectic based on my mood. The desert island playlist would have to include Keb Mo, Mavis Staples, John Coltrane, Bruce Springsteen, Ozomatli, The Rolling Stones and the Buena Vista Social Club, to start. My favorite group in the world might just be the Dakah Hip Hop Orchestra when they come together every other year or so. As a Jersey boy, I was proud to finally get out to a Springsteen concert last summer, alit pains me that I never made it out to see him with Clarence Clemons.

At one point I wrote here that I didn't watch much TV. I don't know what I was thinking. That's a total lie. I tend to watch shows obsessively. My favorites of late have been Game of Thrones, Treme, Portlandia, Friday Night Lights, and I'm getting ready to push through season 3 of Boardwalk Empire. Also, I just noticed that the West Wing is on instant Netflix. There goes my productivity for the foreseeable future!

I love getting out to see movies! Over the last few months, I've really enjoyed "Silver Linings Playbook", "Argo", "Lincoln", and "Skyfall". I'm something of a Bond movie junkie. I'm also getting psyched for the annual screenings of all the Oscar-nominated short films. That's turned into a tradition for me. It'll be extra fun this year since I know one of the nominees!

And finally food...I'm something of a foodie and love to cook, but not I'm not a food snob. I'll try just about anything and appreciate fine dining just as much as a great burger. My favorite Boston culinary excursions have been summer/fall Saturday BBQ at Formaggio Kitchen, walking trips to Flour in Central, and dollar oysters at Legal.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
I have a hard time thinking of things I could never do without. There are plenty of things I love, or make my life better/easier, but I could probably survive without most of them. The two things I can think of are my favorite coat and coffee. There's no way I'm warm or awake without those these days.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
The next outing to organize...the next trip to plan...the next sermon to write...the next meal to be excited for...
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
I guess I'll fall in line with the answer that there is no typical Friday night for me. It really depends on the week. Some weeks I make it to Friday and all I want to do is chill out and indulge the TV obsession I can now admit to. More often than not, though, the end of the week comes as something of a pleasant surprise and I scramble to find a friend or 2 to meet up with for dinner, a drink or an outing somewhere.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I have a secret soft spot for Kylie Minogue. It's part of my nature as an austrophile. I studied abroad in Australia during college and still consider it to be something of a second home country. A number of my Aussie mates have given me the title quasi-aussie, which I'm particularly proud of.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You like anything I've written above and would like to know more!