Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

drbduke

28 Durham, NC Man

Man

You might like

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 21–32
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
May 22
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 2″ (1.88m)
Body type
Athletic
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Agnosticism, and laughing about it
Sign
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Rather not say
Status
Single
Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Has dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Okay), Spanish (Okay), Chinese (Poorly)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I grew up in rural North Carolina--raised by 2 public school teachers. I graduated from Elon University in 2009 with a degree in Biology minors in Chemistry, and Philosophy. I value teaching and education and I am about to defend my PhD--so hopefully a doctor of philosophy in a few months. I want to eventually be a college professor at a small liberal arts college where I can teach and inspire students in the sciences. I have a weakness for girls who are athletic... I secretly want to be a handy man. I love philosophy, science, and learning new things. If I could bring something to "show and tell"--it would definitely be my dad. He is my hero and I owe my sense of humor and outlook on life completely to him. He is definitely one of my best friends (we have a secret handshake--yeah we're that cool). I'm currently raising a yellow labrador retriever named Milo Dawg. He is a ridiculously handsome dog who knows several tricks (now is where you should insert an "awwww"). I want to be with someone who values family, maintains great conversation, makes me laugh, and who is uplifting and fun.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Currently getting a PhD at Duke. I want to eventually be a college professor at a small liberal arts college. Next year I will be doing a teaching/research Postdoc at a neighboring pale blue university...but I will always pull for Duke! I do research examining the consequences of early life pollutant exposures, cardiac development/morphogenesis, and later life consequences.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Sports. I'm pretty coordinated and I can pick up on new sports fast--always been a pretty decent athlete. I would also say that I'm good at reading and understanding people. I love making girls laugh and can find the humor in awkward moments.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My smile/smile lines and strangely enough--my eyelashes...apparently I have nice eyelashes.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Music: The Avett Bros, The Decemberists, Modest Mouse, The National, The New Pornographers, Postal Service, DMB

TV Shows: Louie, Modern Family, Colbert Report, Daily Show, It's Always Sunny

Foods: I like trying new things

Movies: Office Space, Fight Club, The Departed, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Donnie Darko, Forest Gump, Boondock Saints

Latest Book: The End of College

way too much dissertation reading right now, so I try to stay on top of The NewYorker when I can, some Backpacker magazine, and I'm reading Cesar's Way to help train Milo Dawg.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Good Conversation
Laughs
Cuddles
Family/Friends
Cookies
Sports
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Accomplishing random goals I set for myself and what I need to do in order to achieve those goals...(ex: how to train to dunk a basketball or how to run a sub 5 min mile or how to publish a journal article and finish my PhD before I'm old).
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Going out with friends to have a good time.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Deal Breaker: Don't mess with your cell phone when we are hanging out! Hopefully I'm fun enough so that you don't need external entertainment.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You are cool and/or interesting.