Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


31 Toronto, Ontario, CA Man


Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 25-33
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Today – 5:06am
White, Other, —
6' 1" (1.86m)
Body Type
Special Diet
Buddhism and laughing about it
Doesn’t have kids but wants them
English (Fluently), Chinese (Somewhat), Indonesian (Somewhat)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm an often-traveling, sustainably-minded, adventurous, outdoorsy Canadian. My mission is to live a full life learning and experiencing new things, and do it while treading lightly on the planet.

I've just left Perth after 7 years. It's the third continent I've called home. There's no denying I'm in love with independent travel, especially in obscure countries. I love how people – from Amritsar to Zanzibar, from Arequipa to Urumqi – can be so different and yet so much alike. This world is amazing.

I grew up balancing time between a big city and quiet forested lakeside cottage, and so I'm drawn to natural places and tranquil wilderness. I climb things – rocks, trees (especially to get figs), public art, and sometimes buildings. Since I'm almost exclusively into non-motorised outdoor experiences, and lived in windy Perth, my newest passion is kitesurfing. And my hobby of travel photography has become more serious recently. I try to live sustainably (while continuing to shower regularly and avoiding dreadlocks) and volunteer in various projects/campaigns to help others reduce their impact on the planet.

I'm an analytical person, and love to discuss and philosophize. My life involves a lot of learning, personal development, and self-improvement. I love those people who humble, inspire, laugh with/at, or teach me. And even better if they're silly and sarcastic – I've learned to embrace my inner-mischief while in Australia, so I hope you don't take yourself too seriously (because I don't!)

**Update** I've left Fremantle, and will be travelling through 2015/2016 focusing on writing and photography. I'll be in the 'stans April-June, Toronto July-Aug; Vancouver September; surfing/climbing the west coast Oct-Nov, then Toronto again in December. Just an FYI, in case you want to meet up along the way! **
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Having a year off after four years using my industry/engineering background at an energy efficiency and carbon strategy consultancy, and trying to build a community owned wind farm at Fremantle port. I'm pursing photography projects, and writing stories of culture, adventure, and experiential-travel philosophies on my website.

Also, building character and trying to make the most of life, because it's the only one you get (unless you're Buddhist)
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Listening, baking, teaching, making technology useful, spending money on experiences, not accumulating stuff. Being humbled by the cultures of the world. Looking up trivia that arises in conversation. Sharing music, sharing love, sharing ideas.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I am open and engaging; I love to talk to strangers; I take photos; I know a little about a lot. I sound, to some, not quite Canadian.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: The Shadow of the Sun (Kapuściński); Guns Germs and Steel (Jared Diamond); Golden Spruce (Vaillant); Born to Run (McDougall); Blink (Gladwell), Ender series (Orson Scott Card), Cosmos (Carl Sagan), Endurance (Lansing); Thinking Fast and Slow (Kahneman); Black Swan (Taleb); Happiness Hypothesis (Haidt); lots of psychology (eg behavioural economics, neuroscience); and many good classics (like 100 Years of Solitude). I try to alternate between fiction and non. Sometimes I read kids books ('Fox in Socks' is just mindblowing).

Films: I enjoy documentaries (especially those with 'BBC' or 'Earth' in their title), but love clever films with interesting plot twists (think Tarantino, Aronofsky, and Guy Ritchie)

Music: Medicine for the People; Radiohead; Fat Freddy's Drop, The Tragically Hip; Avalanche City; Rise Against; Iron & Wine; Jose Gonzales; and an assortment of alt / electronic.

Food: A varied mix of ethnic foods. Japanese; Ethiopian; Indian; Chinese. I am mostly vegetarian, but you may call me an 'opportunivore'.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Friends (my surrogate family). Chopsticks. My backpack. The internet. A good book. Puns.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
How lucky we Westerners are – we've won the lottery in life. But where's the gratitude? We should be celebrating our freedom by partying in the streets. Instead we waste money on the hedonistic treadmill, make excuses for not living our dreams, and work too much. We are privileged just to have basics like education, passports, and even hobbies!
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Cooking with friends, listening to live music. Catching up on Skype or working on photography. If I'm lucky I'm in a hostel with inspiring new friends, or lying awake in a tent under the stars.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I collect overpriced stubby-holders; and have acquired a scrapbook of public toilet receipts from developing countries.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You think we can learn from each other, and would like to join me on an adventure.
You watch TED, know what DSLR stands for, feel connected with natural places, live sustainably, enjoy maple syrup, or want to visit obscure places like Madagascar, Bangladesh, or Papua.
Our ratings are really high for 'match'. Or 'enemy'. Both situations could be fun!