Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


38 Seattle, WA Man


Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 29–40
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating

My details

Last online
Yesterday – 6:54pm
Hispanic / Latin
Relationship Type
5' 8" (1.73m)
Body Type
Post grad
Wants kids
English (Fluently), Spanish (Fluently), Portuguese (Somewhat)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I like to smile. I’m an optimist and am happy with my life and where I am. I’ve had my fair share of disappointments and failures but I’ve learned from them and they make me who I am. I have a successful career and a demanding job but value my personal time and make a case to protect it by spending time every day doing things I love outside work and connecting with friends.

Complacency with my achievements makes me uneasy. I’ve always looked for the next challenge and want to continue learning new things until the day I die. A few years back, I lived a summer in Beijing to learn Mandarin—by the time summer was over I was bartering in the markets; unfortunately I’ve forgotten it all and remember only a handful of words. I picked up swimming as an adult and now swim a few times a week with an adult swim team. This year, after 10 years of working in marketing I switched roles because I needed to learn something new; the first six months were really hard and I felt like a freshman all over again but am back on my feet and happy with my decision. I have many things I’d to learn and experience, one of which is to start and run my own business.

I find “where are you from” to be a loaded question. I’ve spent half my life in Colombia and half in the States-I grew up in Bogota and moved to the States at 18. Since then I’ve lived in Minneapolis, New York, Ann Arbor, Chicago, Bay Area and now Seattle (I’m done with the midwest and subzero temperatures). Identity-wise I’m somewhere in between—which is probably why I’ve connected best with partners who’ve lived abroad or expats who now live here. Having said that whenever I hear Colombian music—whether it’s Carlos Vives, Joe Arroyo, Bomba Estereo something moves deep inside and I have to dance and I realize I am Caribbean through and through. I love to dance and feel the music.

Seattle is a cool town and while I don’t have any roots holding me here I’d be happy to create them with the right person. Another way of saying it is that home is Seattle, the Central District, with the few things I have (I’m more of a minimalist when it comes to owning things) but rather than some place I’d like it to be someone wherever in the world we decide to live.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
There’s a saying in Spanish—Lo bailado (y lo viajado, I’d add) nadie te lo quita. I live by it; I fill my life with experiences rather than things.
Learning, growing, contributing, building cool things with people and looking to become a better person each day. I’m always open to trying new things and meeting new people. I love my job and have a lot of fun in what is a high pressure environment.

“Adventure is just bad planning.” Roald Amundsen, Norwegian Arctic & Antarctic explorer (1872 - 1928)
Traveling is one the most exhilarating experiences I know. As you can tell by my pictures I travel frequently and try to do so to at least to one new place every year. I travel with a very loose itinerary and prefer figuring things out once I get there. I’ve found this lends itself better to adventures and discoveries—like wandering the small streets in and around Shibuya in Tokyo, coming upon “Love Hill” which as the name suggests is very active at night; coming upon “Tokyu Hands”, the craziest coolest store I’ve been in and spending hours there looking at everything from artsy stationary to camping gear, to discovering a cool little cocktail bar near the hotel where I ended up making friends with the barman/owner who dressed every night in a sharp suit and made fancy, impeccable drinks (picture attached). Sometimes adventure backfires like when in China I went in for a haircut and learned the hard way the difference between asking for a number 2 clipper and 2mm length haircut. I left the barbershop with a tuft of hair on top—but hey I owned it, it was my summer in Beijing look.

On a spiritual level I am working on being more mindful. When it comes to defining my life, I’m changing my mental model from “something I’m doing” as if it’s something I need to do, check boxes to prove I’ve achieved something, to simply “being”, viewing life as a gift, working on being at peace and living with integrity, sharing what I have with the people I love and hopefully contributing to making society a better place.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Writing—though you may disagree having read up to this point. I wrote plays in high school and a novella (unpublished in my early twenties). I’ve been wanting to retake creative writing again.

Motivating people—at work this means getting people to want to work with me and put in their best into what we’re doing together. For fun, convincing people to come out to do something fun like trying a new restaurant, coming out to cycle, swim or dance.

Cooking—I usually make stuff up; occasionally I go by recipes.

I enjoy teaching and think I'm an OK teacher. In college I was a Spanish tutor and later I taught GMAT and GRE courses at Kaplan in Colombia; I really enjoyed teaching in a classroom setting. During business school I got really good at interviewing and later classmates sought me out to help them/teach them interviewing skills. I'm interesting in teaching ESL in Seattle.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My smile. I've been told I have nice lips

I think I come across as approachable as I get stopped frequently by strangers asking for directions. The funniest thing is when this happens in a city I myself am visiting or when I get approached in a foreign language like when I was in Turkey.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Too many. The classics: Cervantes, Dostoevsky, Tolstoy, Flaubert, Balzac, Mann, Hesse, Mahflouz, Saramago. My favorites growing up as a teenager—Kundera, Sartre, Camus. Latin American writers: Garcia Marquez, Borges, Vargas Llosa Bolanos. Kenzaburo Oe, Orhan Pamuk. I gravitate towards older US lit like Faulkner, Hemingway. I want to read in Search of Time Past; I’ve so far read the first two books. Regularly I read Economist, NYT, The Atlantic

My first favorite song was Gracias a la Vida; I’d play a Mercedes Sosa record my parents had when I was 3 or 4 until I scratched it and then they got me a Pippi Longstockings in Spanish record, I guess in part so I would stop scratching their records. The second record I owned was Michael Jackson’s Thriller. I like all kinds of music and love live music. One of my favorite live acts is The Roots. In terms of what I listen to regularly, my taste is pretty eclectic: : Jamie XX, Disclosure, SBTRKT, Holy Ghost, Villalobos, MANDY, School Boy Q, ASAP Rocky, Frank Ocean, Carlos Vives, Shakira.

I love food and try everything at least once. My favorites come back to Colombian food I go back and have every year. Simple things like boiled potatoes with salt taste glorious in Bogota; maybe I’m eating memories rather than potatoes, who knows. There’s very few dishes I truly don’t like. I was given to try “aged” fish in Japan which I have to say is definitely an acquired taste. I also don’t like Mac and Cheese which is ironic as I did brand management for Velveeta for several years.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Grandma’s hayacas
New year’s pernil
Colombian coffee
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
User experience, new products and business models.
Carnaval en Barranquilla; I’m torn, I want to go back next year but also want to the Carnaval in Salvador, Bahia.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Out with friends
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I was a child actor in the soap opera Que paso con Lola? Kidding.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You like my profile.