Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

MettaNarrative

40 M Canby, OR

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 9:28pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 11″ (1.80m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Libra, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has a kid
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Hi everybody! (Please read this in a voice like Dr. Nick's from the Simpsons.) I moved to the Portland area 18 years ago from Northern California, and I love it here. I currently live in Canby, but I'm in Portland a lot, and I plan to move to the city this year (my house just went on the market, so if the sucker sells soon I should be able to move to Portland within the next month or two). I'm an optimist at heart (although not without somewhat of a cynical side; although I think I do well at keeping it in check), and I generally enjoy being around people, even though I'm somewhat of an introvert (although a very talkative one, to which my friends will attest). I'm pretty easygoing, and I don't get bothered by much of anything very easily. I must say that I've led a very fortunate life, but I'd like to think that hasn't kept me from being empathetic and helpful to those who've been less fortunate than me (indeed, without getting too spiritual here, and despite my frequent failure when it comes to execution, I tend to think it's my duty to be so).
What I’m doing with my life
I play drums in a variety of groups in the Portland area, so that occupies a lot of my time when I'm not on my day job. Playing music is my passion, and I enjoy every minute of it. When I'm not doing that, I'm spending time with my 17 year old son (yeah, I got started relatively early on the child rearing thing), or exercising, or hanging out with friends.
I’m really good at
Reading, writing, 'rithmetic, drumming, empathy, listening, and talking (I try to keep the latter two in appropriate proportion to one another).
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm not sure 'bout this. Perhaps that I smile a lot, or maybe they notice that I'm pretty much a big nerd.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Tolkien (I'm a huge Tolkien geek, but just regarding his books, not the movies), Jane Austen, Dostoyevsky, Douglas Adams, John Dominic Crossan, Thich Nhat Hanh, Cervantes, Don Martin. I used to read voraciously as a kid, but I read less so now, mainly because most of my spare time is taken up with musical activities. When I do read, it's mostly non-fiction these days, which is strange, because i mostly devoured fiction when I was younger).

Movies: This is Spinal Tap (natch), Wings of Desire, Bullets Over Broadway, Gosford Park, Shattered Glass, Amadeus, Round Midnight, Waiting for Guffman, Office Space, Bowfinger (this one has gained me some ridicule, but I will not deny that I love it), Blue Valentine (despite being one of the more painful movie watching experiences of my life), and Groundhog Day.

I don't watch TV much these days; usually when I do it's with my son--we're currently going through every season of Seinfeld (again) together. My favorite TV show is probably the Office (when Steve Carell was still on it). Other past favorites include Flight of the Conchords, Seinfeld, and Monty Python's Flying Circus. I also like Curb Your Enthusiasm and Louie.

Music: A lot of older stuff--jazz, blues, rock, soul/funk/R&B. I dig stuff like this (check out the sax solo! That's what I'm talking about): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i5GMHzPeEyA

or this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J0FcKOfRgvE

or this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qC18_XEAe2o

And this NEVER fails to put a smile on my face: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8lCI63H1neY

I've been mostly a vegetarian for about four years. The only time I eat fish is occasionally with sushi, which is probably my favorite food. I love all sorts of food--Mexican, Thai, Vietnamese, Indian, Italian, German, Ethiopian, Chinese, etc.
The six things I could never do without
I don't know about "never," but some of the things I cherish are laughter, family, books, music, and breakfast cereal.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to be a better person. Oh, and the drums, and music in general. It's never too far from my mind. If we end up conversing, I'll try to keep my discussion of boring musical stuff to a minimum (unless of course you WANT to hear about the stellar qualities of Al Jackson, Jr., or Elvin Jones, or Jo Jones, etc.; in which case, I will be more than happy to oblige!).
On a typical Friday night I am
I'm often playing a gig on Friday nights. When I'm not doing that, it varies.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm pretty clueless when it comes to anything mechanical. If you're looking for someone who can fix crap (and I know a lot of you are, and I certainly don't blame you), I will most likely be a huge disappointment!
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 32–43
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating