Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

elsuchre

29 M Brooklyn, NY

My Details

Last Online
Jul 16
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 11″ (1.80m)
Body Type
Overweight
Diet
Anything
Smokes
Sometimes
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Sometimes
Religion
Agnosticism
Sign
Cancer, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Dropped out of Ph.D program
Job
Art / Music / Writing
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Fluently), Italian (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'll try and keep this as earnest and informative as possible.

I was born in France, and moved to the US when I was 11. I have either lived in NJ or NYC (excluding a year in Paris) for 18 years now, and have been in Brooklyn for 2 years.

I'm just now getting back to this site, so I'll be adding stuff as time goes on (I apologize for the quality and dearth of pictures on this profile, I'll do my best to update them).

I have a core group of friends, many of whom I have known since high school, that straddles the NY/NJ border (my username is actually one of my many nicknames), so I guess you could say that I like making and cultivating lasting connections; my ultimate goal as far as OKcupid is concerned is certainly a serious relationship.

I spent 7 years preparing a French Literature Ph.D. that I finally decided to put on hold this spring, a decision I have not regretted in the least thus far; I don't plan on committing to anything serious career-wise for the next year, so I've really been enjoying my freedom (and could just be deluded). I went to graduate school to stay close to one of my major interests (literature, the other being music), and in that sense my time as a graduate student was a success, since I know way more about literary criticism specifically and literature in general than I did when I started. Graduate school is also great if you obsess over very narrow aspects of a huge array of topics, which I think describes me pretty well. I also discovered that I really like to teach, and that I'm pretty good at it.

The one thing about the last few years that I deplore is that I more or less stopped exercising, but I am (slowly) getting back into the swing of things (I was never much of a gym rat, but hiking is one of the things I love to do the most). So far, it's been pretty great!

I spend most of my energy on music; I have been writing songs since I was about 15, and I have an opportunity to exclusively focus on playing, recording and writing for the first time in a very long time. It's going to be a good year!
What I’m doing with my life
I recently left a graduate program and am taking a year to play as much music as I can.
I’m really good at
Playing rock or country music, at least in my opinion.
The first things people usually notice about me
I often have a bit of a scowl on my face (unless I'm with old friends or in a very small group), so that, or the shyness at the root of said scowl.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Music: The Replacements, The Dandy Warhols, The Beatles, The Carter Family, Pixies/Breeders, Hank Williams, the Wu Tang Clan/assorted solo projects, Lou Reed/The Velvet Underground, the Louvin Brothers, Prince Buster, Sleigh Bells, Toots and the Maytals,Johnny Cash, the Blue Sky Boys, Carl Perkins, Le Tigre, Dennis Brown, the Everly Brothers, Elvis Costello, Charlie Patton, Mississippi John Hurt, and many more. In terms of recent music, my favorite would have to be Best Coast. Bethany Cosentino is a disgustingly good songwriter! I am absolutely ignorant as far as classical music goes.

Movies: Cassavetes, Ozu (Autumn Afternoon), Hitchcock, Kurosawa, Leone, Peckinpah, Jaoui, Lynch, Herzog, Truffaut, Kubrick, Wilder, Lang, others that I'm forgetting, I'm sure. I don't go to the movies very often, so I usually have a great time when I do.

TV: The Simpsons (first and foremost), Louie, It's Always Sunny, Twin Peaks, South Park, Arrested Development, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, The Kids in The Hall, The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air... I usually go for comedies on TV, as you can see; I seem to lack the attention span required for drama series...

Books: I'll just list some of my favorite authors.

French: Montaigne, Flaubert, Yourcenar, Prevost (Just Manon Lescaut), Moliere, Marguerite de Navarre.

American/British: Nabokov, Austen (although it's been a long time), James/Burroughs/Joyce (freaky 3-way tie), Wodehouse (I've only read a few so far, but each is better than the last), Shakespeare (except most of the comedies), Flannery O'Connor.

Other (That is to say, in translation): Borges, Gogol, Kafka, Amyot's Plutarch.

I also have an encyclopedic knowledge of Asterix and other old French comics.

I like all different kinds of food, and enjoy cooking when I can find the time/inclination; I know, TMI.
The six things I could never do without
I never liked this game, and this version doesn't even have a desert island.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Simpsons quotes, mortifying faux pas from 10 years ago, how many times the MTA has screwed me over.
On a typical Friday night I am
Usually practicing or playing music, since my main collaborator works full time, or hanging out with friends. I don't go out as much as most people, I think, but I really like going to shows; I also love playing Family Feud.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I stopped taking math courses after high school. No, seriously.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 24–35
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating