Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

elsybee

50 F Bergenfield, NJ

My Details

Last Online
Apr 4
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 11″ (1.80m)
Body Type
Curvy
Diet
Strictly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, and laughing about it
Sign
Taurus, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Entertainment / Media
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Poorly), Latin (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm easy going, curious, a good listener and conversationalist. I like people and tend to be optimistic and upbeat. I am intelligent -- sometimes too smart for my own good -- and I like solving problems and figuring out puzzles/problems. Words are cool. I know a little about a lot, and a lot about things that may or may not be relevant (like 70s pop song lyrics). I like to learn things, and I try not to take anything for granted -- brain, health, job, house, friends, opportunities.
What I’m doing with my life
My day job is in midtown Manhattan, in academic book publishing. I also teach as an adjunct at publishing school, helping to shape the next generation of industry professionals.

I live in northeast NJ, a few miles from the GWB. I share my house with my pet rabbit Daisy, my Maltese dog Poppy, and numerous houseplants and dustbunnies. I can often be found reading, watching movies/TV (viva la Netflix!), talking to friends, listening to NPR or The Peak, bowling, riding the bus, reading the New Yorker, playing with the dog.

I travel for both work and vacation. I love experiencing the world and especially tasting its varied cuisines (although I'm not keen on jet lag). I made it to Singapore and Thailand two years ago; Scotland last year. Favorite vacation of all time was hiking the Grand Canyon and staying at Phantom Ranch. Also LOVE Cape Cod, South Africa, Hawaii, my birthstate California, and places I haven't gotten to yet... This year I plan to get certified in scuba and find a spot to try out those new skills.

I'm working more yoga into my regular routine, as I find it a great way to wipe the mental slate clean as well as build strength, flexibility, balance. Please note that I am NOT a religious person. I am open-minded on the subject - I think we each need to find a way to make sense of our existence - and I have friends and family with deep beliefs. I like to think that I have a strong spiritual side. But if you are looking for someone to share your religion/beliefs, I wish you well in your search.
I’m really good at
Talking to people, listening, finding the humor, laughing, smiling, enjoying simple things, reading directions, making popcorn on the stove, figuring things out, word play, reaching the top shelf.
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile! :D and if I'm standing, my height.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Favorite movies include The Lives of Others, Tell No One, Little Miss Sunshine, Rear Window, Truly, Madly Deeply, Down by Law, The (original) Muppet Movie (who knew Kermit could ride a bike!), and anything by Buster Keaton.

Favorite authors are Michael Chabon, Haruki Murakami, Alice Munro, Raymond Chandler, Roger Angell, John McPhee ... I'm always up for a good read. My guilty pleasure is detective fiction. I subscribe to the New Yorker and can't bear to let an issue go without reading the cartoons. TV shows on the list include The Closer, Mad Men, Modern Family, Parks and Rec, and reruns of Law & Order CI.

Food -- just about anything, but especially sushi, Thai/Asian, Mexican, and burgers. I am a big fan of having breakfast for lunch or dinner.

My music collection runs from Motown to classic rock to contemporary singer/songwriters. Favorites are Brandi Carlile, Mumford and Sons, the Mavericks, Lyle Lovett, Joan Osborne, Richard Shindell, Richard Thompson, Motown, early ELO, Split Enz, Elvis Costello, Nick Lowe... and I love singing along :)
The six things I could never do without
good coffee, dark chocolate, popcorn, friends, fresh air, and a dishwasher.... and then there's sunshine, rain, books, pesto, fresh-baked bread, flowers....
I spend a lot of time thinking about
fixing up my house, good books, things I heard on NPR, human nature, words, protein/carbs/sugars, what's next.
On a typical Friday night I am
teaching a class in publishing school or out with friends, or home for a quiet evening, preparing to sleep in on Saturday!
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 45–58
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
you'd like to start a conversation, laugh with me, or sing along to the radio