Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

emmapeelDallas

64 F Dallas, TX

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 5:51pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 3″ (1.60m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Virgo, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Medicine
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has kids
Pets
Has cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I’m 64, so if you can't handle that, stop reading now.

I'm outgoing and irreverent; flip, funny and slight. I was born in the frozen north, to Scandinavian Lutherans, and raised in Minnesota (think Garrison Keillor); I’ve also lived in Chicago and Colorado. I finished up my undergraduate work and went to grad school here in Texas, but I was educated (a couple of light years ago) at the University of Chicago. I love bright, quirky passionate beings (being bright, quirky and passionate myself), and when I encounter such individuals, wherever I encounter them, friendship tends to follow. I have an eclectic group of friends, but once I become friends with someone, time and distance do not separate us.

I'm happy. Also, I'm active; I crave a certain amount of physical activity. When I was younger, I ran. At 64, I no longer run, but I completed the White Rock Half Marathon in December 2012, and I do a brisk 3 to 5 mile walk through my neighborhood pretty much every day, so if you can't do that, or something comparable, we're probably not a good match physically.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I currently do pharmacovigilance for a Fortune 500 company, which may sound impressive but think Office Space. Previously, I worked for 5+ years as a clinician in pediatric psychiatry research (psychopharmacology). What I'm doing now certainly pays more, and after 5 years of being on call 24/7/365, I love not wearing a pager, and being able to truly leave my work at the office when I go home at night, but...I'll always miss those kids, and truth be told, I'll always miss being a clinician.

When I'm not working I read, write, go to concerts (mostly classical, but I've also seen Leonard Cohen, Joe Cocker, and Natalie Merchant in concerts recently), cook, putter around in my flowerbeds, watch movies, and sometimes, hang out with friends and family...
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Reading people...and there was a time, a couple of light years ago, that I was really good at doing a differential diagnosis between a couple of tough to diagnose psychiatric disorders in kids...
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Dunno the answer anymore...
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Favorite Books: The English Patient (Ondaatje); The Unbearable Lightness of Being (Kundera); Anna Karenina (Tolstoi); Harry Potter (all of them); The Once and Future King (White); Life on the Mississippi (Twain); Brain Storm (Dooling); A Confederacy of Dunces (Toole); Women (Bukowski); To Kill A Mockingbird (Lee)...also Larry McMurtry, Elmore Leonard, Stieg Larsson...the list is long...

My all-time favorite movie is Sex, Lies and Videotape...I also like the screwball comedies of the 30's, and I’m an IFC addict, and I love Johnny Depp...

Music - Classical, opera and folk are my favorites, but I also like rock, R&B, jazz; even some rap...I love The Lumineers and Jose James; Maria Callas (I'd time travel to hear her live); Paolo Conte; Bob Marley & The Wailers (but who doesn't like Marley? - and I'd time travel to hear him, too)...

Food - I love food and am almost always willing to try something new. My favorite restaurant in Dallas was Lola (now closed); I like the new place, Lucia, which is just around the corner from Hattie's in Oak Cliff, but not as much as I liked Lola; I also enjoy ducking into Adair's for a burger and beer, or going to Mia's for the brisket tacos, or Houston's for the sashimi salad. I love Mexican, Thai, French and Italian but a word to the wise: Italian does not mean Olive Garden. Ever.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uejrj0UypOw
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LYEjffrFm3c
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7rExwCkRYI
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=thwGvldGluw
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lJRKg07W1zU
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aJt8mEohIIc
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7f189Z0v0Y
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Id_UYLPSn6U
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UJkxFhFRFDA
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Qx2lMaMsl8
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2hsmoo97CVA
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-pkNpl-tZIw
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
my safety net...friends and family, including two daughters,
two sons, one son-in-law, three grandsons; my Kindle, the NYTimes online and other reading material (essential to my lifelong love affair with the written word); the internet; dental floss; hot showers; good pillows; good music...more than six, I know
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
photography, film, children, animals, people, psychiatry/psychology, medicine, science, writing...to name a few...
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
home, unwinding from the week of commuting (I drive over 500 miles a week) with a glass of wine and some down time
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm a woman who fasts until I see what I want...
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 50–68
  • Located anywhere
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You're a high energy, positive workaholic who isn't afraid to bump up against a 64-year-old woman with a brain. I'm resilient, independent, and whole, and for a guy to appeal to me, those words would have to describe him as well. I'm independent...even when I'm in a relationship, I need a certain amount of alone time, so if you're looking for someone with whom to spend all your free time...that's not me! I'm not looking for anyone to complete me and I'm not looking to complete anyone else. I lead with my heart, always, but use my head to find my way.

I'm an avid reader, and my house is filled with books, so I do best with guys who are sophisticated, fairly literate, and intellectually curious. I love words and books and ideas, and anyone I'd be interested in will have to be able to hold his own with me intellectually......but I'm also a parent and I adore my kids (all grown) and that's sort of like being bilingual...one can slip into parent speak at any time...so I've found that I do best with guys who are also parents who adore their kids.

Life is good, and funny, and at 64, I want a co-conspirator...a bright, funny guy, who can not only carry on an intelligent conversation and make me laugh, but who can look into my eyes while he’s doing it...