Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

energywoman

51 F Chevy Chase, MD

My Details

Last Online
Today – 4:21am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 7″ (1.70m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Judaism
Sign
Sagittarius, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from law school
Job
Law
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has kids
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Now an empty nester as my first-born is happily ensconced as a junior in college, currently in Eastern Europe, and my second is now following her musical passion at a wonderful conservatory. So, relatively liberated, the light at the end of the tunnel is here and shines brightly, although with a bittersweet after-glow.
I'm a lawyer by day and love my work, but it neither defines me nor rules my life. My focus over the past many years has been largely on my kids and their most serious interests -- especially music (cello, piano, sax, classical guitar) and origami. But for me, I love to cook, garden, swim, walk, hike, sing (I sing with a major symphonic choir), and read (NY Times, good books, Food and Wine, the New Yorker, etc.) I also love to just hang out with friends and have good food, wine, and conversation. Travel and adventure, of course, are part of the mix, including a wonderful Tuscany cooking vacation the summer before last and a trip down under, in the land of kangaroos and koalas, this past September. Now planning a trip to Budapest and Prague. After all, why do we have children if not to visit them when they take a semester abroad?
What I’m doing with my life
Filling it with fun and rewarding things. Life's too short to let it pass by without adventure.
I’m really good at
Cooking creatively (usually with success), singing, and gardening. I like to think of myself generally as "artsy" although I'm not terribly bohemian as often comes with such characteristics.
On a more personal level, I'm quite good at being a reliable, trustworthy, and honest friend. I don't play games with people (other than boggle, scrabble, and now "snatch"). I'm very much a straight-shooter. I am what I say I am and who you see.
Oh -- am I'm a good lawyer, parent, and decent musician, and feel good given that I can hang out with real ones and not get kicked out of their club.
The first things people usually notice about me
My energy. People always tell me that I come across as a high-energy woman. I guess if so many people say it, then there must be some truth to it. I do a lot, but then life would be boring if I didn't, I guess. Anyway, I'm happy, so I'm not changing a thing.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Recent reads I enjoyed: Americanaah, The Good Lord Bird, Dear Life, Wild, Canada, The Burgess Boys, Remembering Babylon, And the Mountains Echoed, An Unquiet Mind, the Business of Conducting, Sotomayor's biography, Steve Jobs' biography, The Devil in the White City, Gone Girl, Night Circus, Unbroken, Farewell to Manzanar, To the End of the Land, The Tiger's Wife, Cocktail Hour Under the Tree of Forgetfulness, the Paris Wife, The Help, State of Wonder, Where Men Win Glory, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Saks. Too many others on my night stand. Got to call in sick...

Movies: I watch mostly independent and foreign films and other odd films shown at Bethesda Row and the E Street Landmark Theater. AFI is pretty cool, too. I don't hit the mainstream theaters much because there's rarely anything there l'm interested in seeing. Thought Nebraska, Philomena, and 12 Years a Slave were excellent. The Past (Iranian) was also excellent.

Theater: especially enjoy seeing plays at Studio, Landsburgh, Arena, Theater J and the like.

Music: mostly classical, jazz, world, classical guitar and, of course, 80's music. I come from a musical family and my kids are both musical, especially my daughter, who is a serious cellist and hopes to go professional. So, I gravitate toward the music they play. Since I sing, I also listen to vocal works, mostly classical. But, I'm adventurous, so almost anything goes. I enjoy going to concerts (mostly classical), but they vary from orchestral and chamber performances to solo recitals. I've gone to two operas in the few years and loved them. Now I want to try out the simulcast version in the movie theaters.

TV: Not a tv watcher although I recently signed up for FIOS and netflix. Finished House of Cards and Orange is the New Black. Your suggestions?

Food: anything healthy; all ethnic types. I've become something of a "foodie" in the last few years and have begun some adventurous experimentation. I've also taken some classes at L'Academies de Cuisine (and in Tuscany). I can handle a vegetarian (my son's been one since he was 5 and my daughter recently converted, thanks to PETA), but you have to tolerate my eating habits and cravings, too. Oh -- and I can't live without lots of good fresh fruit and chocolate. Some red wine is nice, too.
The six things I could never do without
My kids, good food, chocolate, good books, music, sunny days, family and friends, adventure. Sure, I can do without a special soulmate, but would much rather do life with one, assuming he's the right one.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to get more than 24 hours out of each day. I also think a lot about what the future holds, especially after my kids stop coming home for college breaks. I definitely would like to have a partner in my life and someone with whom I can share life's adventures or at least a nice bottle of wine.
On a typical Friday night I am
Varies. Sometimes it's dinner or an outing with friends to a movie, concert, or show; other times, I'm pooped and am happy to put up my feet with a good book or movie at home.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I can't whistle. Definite mutation in otherwise great genes. Also, I still have a living grandmother. She's 102 and feisty. Ok. I suppose "feisty" is a relative term. She used to be so feisty as to redefine the word as commonly used. Now she's just feisty in the old-fashioned way.
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 49–59
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating
You should message me if
You are looking for a serious relationship and want to meet someone who is genuinely kind, intelligent, active, fun, decent, warm, caring, musical, adventurous, a Democrat, and who has a good sense of humor, well-being, and does not live in Virginia. If you live in VA, plan on buying a hybrid (unless you are really cool and already have one) to do your driving because I don't do those bridges except under duress. (Ok, I'll make an exception for the exceptional mate.)