Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

enjoythejoy

68 M Graton, CA

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 7:09am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Not at all
Drugs
Never
Religion
Other
Sign
Aries, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Dropped out of university
Job
Art / Music / Writing
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Fluently), Spanish (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
After a few months here, and a few contacts with women (none of which so far has yielded as much as a face to face meeting, though a couple of plans fell through and somehow never got reinstated) I have been rethinking my approach a little. I am not certain that this site is likely to find me a suitable mate, but the experience has forced me to think thorough just what it is I am looking for. The difficulty I am having is in defining my needs/desires in a way that does not fill a whole book!

When I try to imagine myself in a relationship, and talk to other seekers, I realize that my life is quite different from what it was when I was previously in the dating/seeking pool. Normally when one contemplates being in a relationship, the automatic picture is of two people blending their lives. This would mean becoming part of each others' circle of friends, and participating in one anothers' activities. The difficulty arises when I look at my life and habits; it is honestly difficult to imagine finding room in my life for all of that. I have friends that I spend time with that I have known mostly for decades, and with whom I have deep and rewarding relationships, and I spend a lot of time at musical and art-related events. I have a two-hour radio show once a week talking about the state of the world, and I like to spend quite a bit of time alone, all of which leaves me wondering how I could also incorporate time spent participating in someone else's life too. Geography plays into this too: it is hard to see how it would work unless we are both very local.

I am not trying to raise problems here, just looking realistically at what seems possible.

The main issue I see is that I have been developing over a period of 25 years or so a philosophy of life that is out of the mainstream. I believe that we are in a period of history similar to the Industrial Revolution right now, and that everything about the way we live will change (is changing), and I am consciously trying to come up with a new way to be in the world that is appropriate to the future rather than the past. I believe that this involves a return to a more community-oriented life, and I am now seeking out people that feel the way I do, with the aim of either joining or starting an intentional community. Given the time I have spent thinking about this, it is unlikely that I will be easily deflected from this path, so any mate I find will probably be someone who is already thinking along these lines herself, or is looking for real purpose and meaning in her life without necessarily knowing what that might look like.

So I guess I am not normal "date" material! I am looking for someone who either already shares my world view or who feels directionless and is open to trying something new. If that resonates with you, I would love to hear from you.

I have a very active sense of humor, and pretty much always see the funny side of things. I get on with people who do not take themselves too seriously. I am a person of my word, and integrity is important to me.

I am a generalist. I know enough about a very wide range of different subjects to be able to tell fairly accurately when someone I am listening to knows what s/he is talking about. I am passionately interested in socio-political subjects; I could be fairly described as way left of center, though I find such labels constricting. I am a romantic and an optimist.

Even after some fairly serious setbacks I still believe in the fundamental goodness of people. I am generous to a fault. I have never prioritized the making of money, and everything I have ever done (bookstore-coffeehouse, antique stained glass, desktop publishing in the very early days, computer programming and several other things) has been because I was passionately drawn to it. I have a wide and varied circle of friends, many of whom do not know each other. I feel at home in almost any circumstances and social situations. I was married twice, 12 and 16 years, divorced and widowed. I love and respect women, and I miss having someone to snuggle with.
What I’m doing with my life
I once had ambitions to make a fortune, but these days I am content to work enough to pay for my very modest and low-impact lifestyle. I work with artists and musicians helping them cope with computers and technology. I also do art reproduction and other such work. I have a wide range of skills, and if someone was willing to be a business manager, I am capable of and willing to do work that could yield a fair income. For myself, unless I have a specific need, I do not prioritize making money.
I’m really good at
Organizing and classifying
Creating visual beauty
Kissing
Directing complex projects
Mediation
Touching
Getting along with people
Cherishing
Cooking
Admiring
Listening
The first things people usually notice about me
They are too polite to tell me
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I feel like someone who just won an Oscar, and has to think who he needs to thank! I like a huge variety of books and magazines; not much fiction these days, but anything by Barbara Kingsolver, Indian writers (especially Rohinton Mistry), lots of non-fiction, current affairs, socio-political stuff. I do not much like violent movies or scary stuff; more comedies, drama, romantic stuff (I cry a lot in movies, even when I know my emotions are being shamelessly manipulated). Old movies: Man for All Season, A Lion in Winter, Beckett, anything with Peter Sellers, this is ridiculous, there are hundreds. Indian and Thai food are my favorites, but most anything really. Comfort food. Classical, (Romantic period is my favorite, but a lot else too) Jazz up to bebop but no further, old standards, classic rock, folk, mostly I like music that sounds more sweet than harsh. I like to listen purposefully to music, and do not like background music on all the time.
The six things I could never do without
This is impossible!
Friends
Being useful
Making music
Listening to music
Good food
Intellectual stimulation
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I am spending much too much time thinking about how to answer these questions.
On a typical Friday night I am
Doing whatever I chose to do that particular Friday.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
If I admit it, then it is not private. If it is private, I am not willing to admit it.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 50–70
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating
You should message me if
You have read what I wrote at the top, and you resonate with it.