New!   Incognito Mode. Now you can hand-select who sees you on OkCupid. That means total control of your visibility.

Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


34 Albuquerque, NM Man


I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 21–38
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Apr 22
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body type
Strictly anything
Aries, but it doesn’t matter
Graduated from med school
Doesn’t have kids
Likes dogs and has cats
English (Fluently), Spanish (Okay), German (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
ok, I'm super crappy at describing myself. Here is my mediocre effort:

I like to learn. I like museums, particularly modern art. I don't know much about it, I've never studied it, and I don't make it. But I can get lost for hours in museums and be totally content.

I love to travel. As a teenager I traveled all over the country, and as an adult I have been to a fair share of countries and continents. Before beginning medical school, I was in Africa for 6 weeks. Such a fantastic trip - I'd definitely like to go back. I lived in Italy for a few months while I worked at a gravity wave detector outside of Pisa. I've traveled through Western and Eastern Europe. I did some medical volunteer work in central America. My sister lived in Argentina for a little while and I visited her there. For my next big trip, I was going to try to check out India/Nepal/Tibet. Or maybe mainland China. I don't have a lot of nice material possessions, probably because I spend my money traveling.

I love the outdoors. I used to go hiking with my best friend very often. I love going backpacking, to the beach, biking and things of that sort.

I used to go to lots of concerts/shows, but that has slowed down since medical school. I've seen most of my favorite bands in concert. I also love the symphony. I have a friend with whom I get all dressed up and go out to fancy performances and things.

I love to cook. I love to cook for people. I'm down with the vegetarian lifestyle, as I was one for about 10 years, but these days I really enjoy whipping together vermouth-braised beef short ribs or bacon-wrapped scallops or something.

*** UPDATE ***

I *just* moved to Albuquerque from Cleveland. I'm from the San Francisco bay area. This profile is still a work in progress.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I graduated from UC Berkeley with a degree in physics and mathematics. I did astrophysics research for a while only to discover that it really isn't for me. I taught chemistry at San Francisco State University and for The Berkeley Review MCAT preparatory course for about 3 years. Before moving from CA, I was working full time at UCSF as a clinical researcher. I went back to school to complete my prerequisites for getting into medical school. I moved to Cleveland in order to attend med school at Case Western Reserve University. I recently graduated and have started my neurosurgical residency at UNM.

I'm really not as nerdy as this makes me sound . . .
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
really weird pointless things (e.g. drawing with my feet, having extraordinary control over my facial muscles, etc.)

living in the moment

trying new things

spontaneous adventures
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Apparently, people think I look like Jesus. That's what I get more
than anything else. Take it for what it's worth.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I read A LOT. Almost exclusively fiction. Again, I think this is to balance all of the science in my life. The first titles that come to mind are: Midnight's Children (Salman Rushdie), One Hundred Years of Solitude (Gabriel Garcia Marquez), White Noise (Don Delillo), VALIS (Philip K. Dick), Cat's Cradle (Kurt Vonnegut), Cloud Atlas (David Mitchell), Blood Meridian (Cormac McCarthy), Memoirs Found in a Bathtub (Stanislaw Lem), Other Voices, Other Rooms (Truman Capote), Lolita (Vladimir Nabokov), His Dark Materials Trilogy (Philip Pullman), James and the Giant Peach (Roald Dahl), The World According to Garp (John Irving), Kafka on the Shore (Haruki Murakami), Another Roadside Attraction (Tom Robbins), Weetzie Bat (Francesca Lia Block) + a million others. Also I LOVE Calvin and Hobbes. I'm trying to read more women authors these days, so if you have any suggestions . .

Another big topic for me. My music tastes are constantly evolving, but favorites include: Pulp, David Bowie, Beck, P.J. Harvey, Daft Punk, LCD Soundsystem, M83, Cut Copy, Prince, Madonna, mc chris, Billie Holiday, Nina Simone, Pixies, Magnetic Fields, Neil Young, Lou Reed, Chopin, Willie Nelson, The Misfits, The Clash, Dimitri from Paris, and just about any dance music (I listen to a lot of funk and disco), Deadmau5, Goldfrapp, Miss Kittin, Felix da Housecat, Blackmill, Honeycut, Vetiver, Peaches, Outkast, 60s Brazilian Music (Antonio Carlos Jobim, Jorge Ben, Astrud Gilberto, Gilberto Gil, etc.), 60s French pop (Francois Hardy, Jacques Dutronc, etc), The Brian Jonestown Massacre, The Notwist, The Black Keys, Bon Iver, The Zombies, The Kinks, Beach House, Jean Ritchie, Buddy Holly, and the list goes on. Honestly, though, I have an eclectic collection and have gone through many phases and genres. I have seen most of my favorite bands live - I love concerts.

food: salty, savory. Oh - and spicy. I LOVE super spicy food. If it doesn't clear the sinuses, it's not spicy enough.

also, big big fan of Joss Whedon and Louis CK.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
great friends
great food
great beer
great books
great conversation
great sex
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
unfortunately, my future. My neurosurgical residency consumes the vast majority of my attention.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
I used to be out dancing or something. These days, I tend to keep it low key. Dinner and drinks, or movie night. Reading, if I'm by myself.

*** Update ***
Probably working. Neurosurgery is a harsh mistress.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I had a good story for this that involved rollerskating in my underwear, but I think I'd rather discuss my embarrassing secrets in person.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
you want to.

you don't mind that my schedule is kind of insane. still, I do my best to make time.