Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

esseffguy

50 M Oakland, CA

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 12:13pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Asian
Height
5′ 9″ (1.75m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Buddhism, and laughing about it
Sign
Capricorn
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Construction
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Well for starters, I grew up in NJ which, right away suggests I can find the humor in almost any situation. I drive a practical car with a kayak/bike rack on the roof and tennis rackets in the trunk. I’d be called a liberal almost anywhere else in the country except here. My workspace is nicely cluttered. I give blood regularly. I don’t have any addictions, other than getting outside to play. I tend to put the welfare of others before my own – which gets me into trouble sometimes. I prefer parties where I don’t need to yell to be heard. On the whole, I’m better at eating than I am at cooking - I’m better at listening than I am at talking – and I’m better at sports than I am at games.

I might be described as a "regular guy" with a few CA-friendly modifications – that is to say, while I'm fairly handy to have around the house, I don't drink beer, watch a lot of sports on television or dream of owning a powerboat. In addition, I will almost always (which I think is way ahead of the curve for a straight guy) remember your birthday, open the door for you, notice a new hairstyle, put the toilet seat down, and ask you how your day was.

OK, so what am I looking for in a woman? Well, I guess with the advent of global warming it might be good if she looked good in a pair of shorts … and knew a few tasty fish recipes. Other than that, who knows? Ideally, she’d be perceptive, affectionate and happy. She’d have some nerdy and/or sporty tendencies, wouldn’t be overly impressed by material things and have a high tolerance for eye-rolling humor. Beyond that, I appreciate intelligence, flexibility, tact, humor, honesty and open-mindedness – in anyone.
What I’m doing with my life
I am the CEO, receptionist and janitor in my own architectural office of one (which means gossip at the water cooler can be pretty spotty – and the possibility of a coworker setting me up with his/her cousin is … well … zero). I’m striving to make the world just a little bit greener, one home at a time. Occupation-wise, it’s sorta like being a “starving artist” except there's a giant written and oral exam to pass. On the whole, it’s rewarding work though; my hours are flexible, I mostly like my boss, and my morning commute is usually less than 10 seconds - unless there’s a tie up in the kitchen or something …
I’m really good at
Tinkering, designing, various ball sports, outdoorsy stuff, road trips, back rubs, parallel parking, amusing children, appearing to love your mother’s cooking, misplacing my keys …
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m pretty fit for my age – or any age. I’m even keeled and personable. After a minute you might notice I’m funny too – “funny”, like ha-ha funny … not uh-oh funny …
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I listen to a fair amount of radio – mostly NPR - This American Life, Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me, To the Best of Our Knowledge, Radio Lab, West Coast Live, etc…

My musical tastes are all over the board – pop, rock, rockabilly, blues, bluegrass, classical, big band, swing, Motown, New Orleans jazz, world music, etc… Country, rap and metal are on the list too, just a little further down – somewhere between elevator music and Klingon opera …

I’ve got a 20” tube TV that I fire up on occasion. I gravitate toward PBS since it’s the most commercial-free of my eight channels … oh, and because it makes me feel smarter. I know - they haven't got anything that rivals the Jersey Shore … but then, can anything top a show about life in NJ? The answer is “No”.

As far as movies go, I’m kind of a sucker for happy endings. I don’t know- it just seems like there’s enough real-life-drama in real life. Anyway, on occasion I indulge my inner-geek with a sci-fi or action movie on the big screen, otherwise I tend to wait for things to come out on DVD. I’m actually OK with musicals and (some) chick-flicks – not so much with horror or gangster movies as they rarely end well. I also enjoy watching classic movies from time to time - especially when they’re playing at the Paramount in Oakland or the Stanford Theater – love those mighty Wurlitzers!
The six things I could never do without
Truth, beauty, humor, love, happiness and pie (which, in some circles, is a synonym for all of the preceding).
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Life, the Universe and everything … oh, and now that whole Higgs-Boson-thing … oy!
On a typical Friday night I am
Doing this or that. Sometimes I’m out with friends - sometimes I’m unwinding from the week - sometimes I’m writing an internet dating profile … sigh …
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
It’s been four generations since my family left the Land of the Rising Sun, which makes me about as Japanese as a Jack-in-the-Box teriyaki bowl. It also means my math skills probably aren’t as good as one might expect …
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 36–50
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You are kind and sane.