extropic
39 Brooklyn, NY
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
extropic
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Originally from the West Village, now in BK gentrifying northern Bushwick after it happened to me.

I'm passionate, outgoing, worldly, kind, assertive, nerdy, cool, silly, empathetic and have a strong personality all of which I generally like in women as well.

Gravitate towards people with strong opinions about something meaningful, or at least care about social/political issues and can talk about them, as I am not usually as heavily attracted to more passive types in conversation. If you're not so vocal, we can get along since I do have friends like this, as I am more open minded than this may sound, and love meeting new people. I do generally prefer well articulated and informed viewpoints, not so much into sophomoric ranters.

Value self-awareness...

and a willingness to bug out is a plus.
What I’m doing with my life
LMSW who supervises MSW interns within a Brooklyn public school for a non-profit where we provide counseling and other services for students. Used to be a NYC Teaching Fellow/middle school social studies teacher (still have a license) and once was a quality assurance engineer.

I also run a vinyl only record label, produce mostly American sounding deep house and techno that I put out on my label, and elsewhere, and been DJing for 20+ years.
I’m really good at
Being forward, honest, starting a conversation, intuitiveness, perceiving, analyzing, empathizing, observing, some language/voice impressions, being utterly ridiculous and laughing when needed.
The first things people usually notice about me
My eye color, height, the sneakers, t-shirt or track jacket I'm wearing

How nice I am

Being unafraid to say the unsaid
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books:

Non-fiction, history, social science, philosophy, news articles & analysis

Film/Shows:

Cannes film festival nominees
edutainment
documentaries
a few vices here and there (think...Liam Neeson)
The Wire
satirical news
Louie
Curb Your Enthusiasm
Orange is The New Black (not season 3)
Girls (not season 5)
Parts Unknown
Frontline
The Brian Lehrer Show
Democracy Now!

Music:

I started as a hip-hop DJ/turntablist at 18 so basically I love to dance.

Traditional American-style and Panoramabar-like deep house
Detroit and Berghain-like techno
Most "black music," in general

anything with a strong rhythm and soul tends to attract me.

Yet, I grew up playing violin and sang in the Metropolitan Opera as a child so make of that what you will.

Cooking:

I love cooking, and doing so for others, but I tend to take forever to make things. I am very open minded about new food, but baby bird in an egg as a "delicacy" is probably where I have to draw the line (Yes, I tried it).
The six things I could never do without
Creative outlets, real talk, sunlight in my eyes, warm weather, learning, traveling without being a tourist, some mfin' inspiration
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The future, the present and the past
On a typical Friday night I am
DJ seshining with friends at my apartment, producing music, dancing in a dark room, watching a film or TV show, enjoying thoughtful conversations with whoever's willing, cooking or ordering a tasty meal followed by a stiff drink...
You should message me if
You're found or lost...or just curious
More