27 Burlington, VT
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
***I live in Vermont but am visiting the Seattle area for a week and a half, with an eye towards moving back, so I figured I'd check out the dating scene.***

Bigots and Ayn Rand kill my lady boner.

I am in several committed, long-term, ethically non-monogamous relationships. I currently live with my nesting partner Red-Ascetic and our two dogs. Aside from being poly, I'm also femme-presenting, agender, demisexual, queer, feminist, and leftist. I'm not a social justice warrior, GORRAM IT. I'm a social justice wizard.

I work really hard to minimize my negative impact on others, whether that's making sure I use non-oppressive language, or not parking outside the lines at the grocery store. On the other hand, I don't shy from confrontation and will not hesitate to call someone out for being rude to service staff or cat-calling me. Usually loudly with a LOT of swearing.

I am looking for intelligent, curious, and passionate folk (of any/all gender identities) for flirting, dancing, cuddling, intense discussions, and other adventures, and maybe some sexier fun if we hit it off. I'm not really seeking another partner right now, but am interested in friendships and casual dating. I can't and won't be the center of your universe, but if our worlds collide, I promise you'll enjoy it.

My nesting partner and I are not unicorn hunting, and if we were to end up dating the same person (it happens on rare occasion), it would be a triangle, not a T. I do, however, prefer kitchen table poly to parallel poly, so being up for (platonically) hanging out with my other partners is a huge bonus.

Couples: Be grown-ups and hire an escort. Or expect me to respond with rates. Same goes with people looking for nudes or cybering.
What I’m doing with my life
I finished uni in 2011, and now I'm in the process of researching/applying to grad & law schools for Fall 2017.

Adventure walks with my dogs, doing marketing/communications/social media for a nonprofit, playing board and card games, freelance writing, putting together costumes, dipping into the sugar pot, kittening for a local burlesque troupe, learning to sew, running a VT-local poly page on Facebook

...sometimes I even remember to eat.
I’m really good at
Over-analyzing everything. Meta-thinking. Making my life as complicated as humanly possible. Making nouns into adjectives and verbs. Being unintentionally intimidating. Unintentionally offending my coworkers because I don't put smiley faces at the end of my emails.

Buying people presents! No seriously, it's my special power. I buy awesome gifts.

Eating the red berries in foreign countries and NOT dying.
The first things people usually notice about me
If I'm wearing contacts - which is fairly rare these days - then my eyes. They're big and blue.

More likely, though, that I talk really fast.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books/Authors: The Kushiel's Legacy series by Jacqueline Carey, Kurt Vonnegut, Crime and Punishment, A Song of Ice and Fire series, Y the Last Man, The Bell Jar, Whipping Girl (Julia Serano), Octavia Butler
Topics: trashy historical fiction, sex and gender studies, sex in history, dystopias

Movies: As a child, I spent my weekends at my father's alternating between watching Tank Girl and the Labyrinth. It explains a lot about me.
Some of my other favorites: Pan's Labyrinth, Dangerous Beauty, Gia, What Dreams May Come, Save the Last Dance, Velvet Goldmine, Center Stage, But I'm a Cheerleader, Chasing Amy, Cruel Intentions
TV Shows: Game of Thrones, Once Upon A Time, Firefly, Battlestar Galactica (2004), Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel, MI-5, Law & Order: SVU, Californication, Grey's Anatomy, The Blacklist, OINTB, House, Orphan Black, American Horror Story, Master of None
Actors: Anthony Hopkins, James Spader, Summer Glau, Robert Downey Jr.

Music: Lakes of Canada, Of Mountains and Men, Mumford & Sons, Ingrid Michaelson, John Prine, Metric, Regina Spektor, Rilo Kiley, MIKA, Mike Doughty, Death Cab for Cutie, The Mountain Goats, Gogol Bordello, Kate Nash, folk punk (Against Me!, Ghost Mice, etc), most live music

Food: Smoothies, Thai food, Vietnamese food, cheese, coffee, meggys retes, langos, comfort food
Local places I enjoy: Our House, Sneakers, Pearl Street Diner, Duino Duende, Pho Hong, Pho Dang
The six things I could never do without
1. Burt's Bees chapstick
2. My passport
3. An animal friend/sidekick
4. Minor distractions (fidget toys, puzzles, games that don't require all of your attention/focus, etc)
5. Internets
6. Coffee
I spend a lot of time thinking about
All of the things. Especially the things I shouldn't spend time thinking about.

Random reflections on modern life and philosophical musings that can often be summed up in webcomics.

Also about how I could have an entire OKC profile and use only links to various webcomics.
On a typical Friday night I am
Kittening for, or attending, a burlesque, cabaret, or drag show.

Going out dancing somewhere, ideally costumed ridiculously.

Writing for the internets.

Playing board games and card games at home with friends and partners.

Or sitting at the bar wherever my nesting partner is currently working while I study or do work, hoping the patrons won't talk to me and snarking mercilessly at them when they do.
You should message me if
...you're interested in me as a person and not just as a series of orifices connected by other tissue.

...you are poly/poly-friendly and queer/queer-friendly.

...you have passionate, informed stances on social justice and believe in the dignity of poor folk, indigenous peoples, people of color, queer and trans folk, women, and sex workers.

...you don't mind that I'm pretty terrible at small talk.

...you understand that I'm terrible at checking/responding to messages on here, and won't get butthurt or aggressive about it.

...you think we might be experiencing mamihlapinatapai, either on OKC or in meatspace.

...you enjoy board and card games.

...you cannot come up with something more original to say than "hi" or "hi sexy," you intend comment on my appearance, or the only thing you have to say to me is something sexual.

...you have no profile, no photos, and/or no questions filled out.

...you don't live close to Burlington or Montreal, or at least visit here regularly.

...you would strongly prefer to date your own race and you're white; you wouldn't date a trans person and think it's unacceptable that I would; you think men should be heads of households; your faith in your religion is a major part of your daily life; you think "No" means anything other than NO; you believe women have an obligation to shave their legs