failureman
53 Madison, WI
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
failureman
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Mostly, I want to be in love again...i need a partner, a muse and a companion.

What else about me? You'll find I'm a nice guy, honest, straightforward, loyal, funny (although my sense of humor tends to the dry and sarcastic side), competitive (but not overly so, I don't have to win but I will come to play!). Casual - give me an informal restaurant with good honest, interesting food over anything fancy.
I love the outdoors: backpacking, hiking, kayaking, or being out on my boat, but don't get to any of those as much as I would like. It's been years since I've done a real wilderness trip - It's time to get back into it. I do neglect my garden, just too much else to do, but I do have a decent show of spring flowers and bulbs.
I thrill to real weather, when I was I kid I liked to sit on the lake Michigan beach and watch the summer thunderstorms roll in across the lake. "There's no bad weather, just bad clothing"

I can talk politics or science or whatever for as long as you want. The first time we meet I'll talk too much - but I'll get over that quickly. I'm also handy ("If they can't find you handsome they ought to find you handy!") and can fix just about anything, you might be amazed. And when you get to know me don't be afraid to ask, its not an imposition; but you get bonus points if you ask me to help fix your boat!

“Believe me, my young friend, there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth doing as simply messing about in boats." -Kenneth Grahame

I've been using "failureman" as a screen name for a long time, it refers to the best job ( Failure Analysis Manager) I ever had, but self deprecating humor seems to be a trend.

“One should as a rule respect public opinion in so far as is necessary to avoid starvation and to keep out of prison, but anything that goes beyond this is voluntary submission to an unnecessary tyranny, and is likely to interfere with happiness in all kinds of ways.”
What I’m doing with my life
I am striving to be a good parent to a pair of teenagers, while finding ways to rediscover myself. By day I help keep the science going in a department at the UW, but I don't define myself by my work. On summer weekends I get out on my sailboat when I have a chance.
At the same time I'm committed to using my skills to make my community a better place. And I do, I'm having an impact and it is satisfying.
Between all that and looking after the best dog in the world (he looks after me too), I keep pretty busy.
Did I mention I'm a part time model? But I won't quit my day job!
I’m really good at
Fixing things. When I was 12 the neighbor asked me over to fix a set of drawers that her husband, an engineer, couldn't. Fixing things is the bulk of my day job at the UW.
The first things people usually notice about me
They used to notice my red hair, but its faded out a bit.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
It has to be interesting. I'll take an interesting movie that makes you think over any action blockbuster; I'll take an eclectic ethnic restaurant over any place with white table cloths; I'll take live music, played with heart, over any recording. I'm always game to try anything. Some specifics: , Colbert, Dr. Who, Joseph Campbell, Joseph Conrad, Hesse, McCullough, The Trouble with Harry, Raising Arizona. Taqueria Quadalajara, David's Jamaican. Dubowa, Glenmorangie, New Castle Brown Ale. Oh, and Gilbert and Sullivan.
The six things I could never do without
My kids
Touch
My dog
My Sailboat
Outdoors

That's only 5, but one needs focus.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What's best for my two teens, the sorry state of american politics and how to improve public education (yes, really I do).
On a typical Friday night I am
... home with the kids, or perhaps I drag them out to the terrace or a bike ride, or having dinner with friends.
You should message me if
You are seeking companionship in an active life. If you appreciate the parts of the world not accessible by car and can put everything you need for a weekend in a pack you can carry. If you are comfortable in a pair of jeans and have a good pair of walking shoes.
More