fanta1
52 Brooklyn, NY
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
fanta1
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I have a nordic heritage and a latin soul. I’m from the Michigan and although I’ve been in NYC for 17 years I've held on to my Midwestern manners. The diversity that is NYC suits me (people, food, culture, unidentified smells). I’m a freelance designer and teacher and enjoy the variety this type of work brings. Its great taking the subway after everyone has gone to work and a treat to see a movie in the middle of the day. I love independent film and music, being independent and intimate (I do think the two can go together). I’m a stacker but do get to house cleaning by the end of the week. I’m addicted to the NY Times crossword puzzle (it runs in the family–there have been a few ripped puzzles in my past) and love to read. I’m game, playful, full of it (at times), seriously funny, rigorous, tenacious, loquacious, and like couscous.
What I’m doing with my life
I love traveling and in the last 10 years have worked in Bulgaria and been to many countries including Turkey, Scotland, Morocco, Spain, France and Costa Rica. I hope to get to Vietnam and Cambodia soon ( Angkor Wat has been a long time dream). I have a place upstate and spend a lot of time there especially in the spring and summer months. Let's see...cooking, reading, distance biking, walking my dog, exploring, taking photographs, painting and cross country skiing,
I’m really good at
Finding a deal. Telling a good story. Asking questions. Listening and being a loyal friend. Going with the flow but navigating the boat. Taking constructive criticism. Laughing at myself. Working in teams. Working independently. Being open to new experiences. Challenging myself. Oh and... procrastinating.
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile, eyes and energy.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books–Middlesex by Jeffery Eugenides, Persuasion and Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, Devil in the White City by Erik Larson...its tough to choose! MOVIES!!! so many.... favorite directors–All of Michael Haneke, Jia Zhangke, Wong Kar Wai, Kubrick, Howard Hawks, Paul Thomas Anderson, Frank Capra, Preston Sturges...too many. MUSIC–new, old, blues, funk, r&b, – no genre is off limits. Al Green is on my top ten along with Miles Davis (pre fusion). Freakwater, Beirut, Bowie, Led Zeppelin, Louis Armstrong, Ella, Nina Simone, Ali Farka Toure, Satie...Debussey...FOOD Italian, Spanish, spicey, savory–yummy...all. Love to cook too. Enjoy learning new recipes especially when friends from Italy do the teaching!
The six things I could never do without
A body of water to swim in. Toast. Sunshine. Air travel. Family. Friends.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to balance work and pleasure while remaining in the moment.
On a typical Friday night I am
Usually at home relaxing or with good friends, eating out or seeing a movie–often keeping it low key. Weeks are long and my big night out is generally Saturday unless there is something specific I don't want to miss Friday.
You should message me if
You are looking for companionship, are game to try new things and would like someone who has a similar spirit. Smart and smart alecs are OKAY with me!
More