Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

forking_path

30 Irvine, CA Man

Man

Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 24–30
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating

My details

Last online
Yesterday – 8:49am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Indian
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body type
Fit
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Rather not say
Status
Single
Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs
Speaks
English, Tamil (Okay), Hindi (Poorly)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Assistant Professor at UCI, via a postdoc at Cal and graduate school on the East coast.

Like many science types I'm a bit of a geek, but I always wanted to write so I spend a lot of my spare time reading and attempting to live vicariously through my few writer friends.

I grew up in India and miss big loud family gatherings, intermissions in movies, and am still mildly disturbed by the orderliness of American traffic, although after nine years in the U.S. I'm more likely to know random facts about US politics (thank you, Aaron Sorkin!) than about Indian sports...
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Working, exploring the OC, staring at the dirt lot that is my back yard and fantasizing over landscaping ideas... ping me with suggestions!
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Scrabble; pub trivia nights; improvisational cooking; mixing cocktails (worked as a bartender for a while, a bit rusty now); writing absurdly long sentences in papers that drive my co-authors insane; a ballistic approach to comma placement; humorous self-deprecation; unintentionally amusing nephews and nieces by my clumsiness; inventing and using non-existent words, such as spontaneous lexicovocalization.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Wisecracks and sarcasm, the fact that I can talk *really* fast if I want to, and that I'm Indian (that one's sort of hard to miss!)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books -- too many to list, but I'm a particular fan of Neal Stephenson, Jorges Luis Borges (hence the username!), British detective fiction, Terry Pratchett, and Vikram Seth. Some favorites: Wolf Hall and its sequel Bring up the Bodies, Red Earth and Pouring Rain, Sacred Games, Never Let Me Go, Amsterdam, Snow Crash, Night Watch, A Suitable Boy, the Golden Gate, The Glass Bead Game... the list goes on.

I loved the West Wing, tolerated the Newsroom, and am waiting for House of Cards to Jump the shark. Also, I watch the Blacklist to laugh with James Spader and to hate on Megan Boone (like everyone else).

Music -- I was raised on a diet of classic rock, rebelled into listening to jazz and classical music a bit in college, but now will pretty much listen to everything...

As for food -- I'm a big foodie, so pretty much anything goes as far as I'm concerned (although I'm not Anthony Bourdain, so live octopus tentacles are out...)
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Friends and family, coffee, books, wine, the New York Times, and my iPod.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
My research (what can I say? I'm a postdoc, that's more or less the job description...)
Coffee, and where to get it.
Books, cheese and wine, ditto.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Cooking dinner, hanging out with friends at the movies, exploring San Francisco...
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
-You're laid-back, gregarious and cheerful and you love books, coffee, food, and/or getting lost in strange cities.
-Something on my profile intrigued you.
-You want a wine-tasting buddy, can teach me how to sail, or have tips for zany things to do in the LA or the OC.