Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

franksf

55 M San Francisco, CA

I’m looking for

  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 43–58
  • Near me
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 7:50pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Atheism
Sign
Aries, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has a kid
Pets
Has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), German (Poorly), Spanish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Short on time? Feel free to jump down to the end of this section for the germane dating info.

I'm an expressive, open, usually optimist fellow looking for the same in a partner. I try to find the humor in things, which is not hard in our absurd/wondrous world. I'm an engineer by profession so I like to watch cars go through the carwash, check the evening sky for satellites, and occasionally prod like-minded geeks into how-does-that-work conversations.

That said, I value articulate wit, discerning observations, emotional intelligence, and a sense of fairness. I enjoy art in all forms.

Being outdoors and feeling the sun on my body makes me happy. I've some experience backpacking, and try to fit in a hike or car camping trip as often as is practical. What a great area we live in for that! I own a few kayaks collectively with friends and look forward to getting out on the bay again this year (a shoulder injury got in the way the past few years). I do like the urban balance and need some weekend time just for fancy, fresh cocktail sampling, or strolling about at Sunday Streets.

I try to keep music a part of my life. I love seeing live music and play some guitar and bass myself. In fact I'm always looking for a new music project or jam! I usually have a song stuck in my head.

I love travel of all sorts. Nothing beats the feeling of being transported to an unfamiliar, exotic culture or landscape (French Polynesia, Tuscany, central Nevada!). I have an ever-growing list of future destinations. My parents are immigrants (my dad is German and my mom Colombian) so I've had some exposure to other cultures, and love immersing in them.

Other things I like to do in no order:
* make lists
* play at the beach
* jump around the house to something killer on the stereo
* attend off-the-wall small theater productions
* eat at my favorite taco truck (yum!)
* pull weeds out of the ground by the roots
* go to a weekend, midday show at the Symphony
* eat an apple waiting for the music to start at the Fillmore
* feed my NPR radio addiction

I'm an east coast native and impulsively moved to the bay area 22 years ago. I so value the live-and-let-live ethic I found here. I feel happy and lucky to be in this diverse city and raising my almost teenage son here. I'd have to say I don't resemble a typical New Yorker though I lapse into sarcasm easily, and sometimes find myself yelling at the TV, usually at disingenuous or inaccurate statements uttered by Republicans (yes, a news junkie as previously mentioned!)

While I'm generally a "nice" guy, and may dress and act the part, I have a little bit of an edge, and I'm attracted to some radical opinions. I like a dose of irony and quietly bristle at excessive BS. I enjoy truth revealed. I empathize with the underdog and don't easily tolerate unfairness. But I have good manners!

I am permanently separated and have a nicely amicable relationship with my ex. We split time 50/50 with our 12 year old boy. I've gotta say we have worked hard to stay respectful and support each other, partially because good relations between his parents means so very much to our kid.

So, here's the lowdown on what I'm looking for: A relationship leading to a soulmate! I don't have any allusions that this will just drop in my lap. In the meantime, I dig doing enriching activities, feeling and building connection with like-minded, and live a little outside my comfort zone. I am a respectful hedonist, GGG (thanks Dan), and naturally gravitate toward enjoying and giving pleasure. I have a strong romantic side and if I meet the right person, will fall head over heels.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Hanging on for the ride. Trying to be a better person, better dad, and open my heart/self a little more to the world. Doing my best as a design engineer. Finding ways to activate my right brain more.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Listening. Comprehending details
Picking up a tune
Laughing at sharp wit
Being open-minded
Intentionally getting lost, then finding my way back
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Not sure. My playful nature. My expressive face
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
* Lately: Haruki Murakami, J Franzen. Old School: Kurt Vonnegut, Tom Wolfe. Science fiction. I also like reading political non-fiction
* I like movies and don't see nearly enough. Lean more toward independent and documentaries. I love Stanley Kubrick movies.
* Music, too difficult to be very specific. Pixies to the Beatles (and all in-between) are my standbys. Playing a lot of bluegrass lately. ANYTHING live. Lots more.
* Just like everyone, I'm trying to cook/eat more fresh and organic food. I love most foods. Will eat good sushi or sashimi any time!
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Really nothing, except the kid.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
* How to squeeze-in more fun activities
* Music projects
* Staying on the bucking bronco that is my job
* How to be a bigger person
* Why many people vote against their own self-interest
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Either having a few beers with friends or home trying to convince my kid to play chess with me.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
That I admit private things easily. Feel free to ask me in person. Or not!
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You're a bit of a smartypants. You find humor in things big and small. You have a good heart. You have an open-minded world view. You are at least a little bit vulnerable (Confidence and humility combined is one of my big turn-ons). Spontaneous singing in public doesn't embarrass you (too much!)