Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

funnytube

49 Orinda, CA Man

Man

Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 34–43
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Aug 24
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 9″ (1.75m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Religion
Atheism, and laughing about it
Sign
Leo, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Art / Music / Writing
Status
Single
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
**My moniker explanation- it is an old ebay handle I used generally on many sites, related to my interest in radio tubes.**

Hard-wired optimist with some practicality thrown in. There is a bit of the teacher in me; I enjoy explaining how things work in a clear, approachable manner.

I am a professional Freelance illustrator, and have done work as diverse as illustrating postage stamps, car engine cutaways, medical devices, scientific processes and the San Francisco skyline for a commemorative chocolate bar. 

I am fascinated with antique technology. I spend much of my free time tinkering in my studio, reanimating the voices of long-silent machines, as well as creating new devices. I love digging at flea markets. Though I'm a self-motivated person who feels comfortable with solitude when working, I also enjoy good company, laughter, conversation, the local night life, alternative culture events and exploration.

I was born and raised in the SF bay area by British parents. I inherited some of their customs, but with a Californian twist. I lived and worked in the UK during my college years. I have always felt some fond familiarity with the UK, but the Bay Area is my home.

I am close to my family. My parents encouraged my artistic skills from a young age; they both were in creative industry professions. I learned illustration from my dad. The beauty of old things from my mom. My grandmother was a dreamer, which I seem to have inherited. My grandfather was an engineer at UC Rad Labs. His influence led me into tinkering with old electronics.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Running my illustration business from home. Tinkering. Collect and sell vintage electronic components to make extra funds. Attending life drawing sessions at UC Berkeley when I can. I volunteer with the Fix-It Clinic where I put my teaching & tinker nature to good use, helping folks repair and understand their devices. Pursuing the creative ideas rolling around in my head.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Spatial recognition. Fixing things. Creative thought. Listening & finding cohesiveness among the diverse, creative perspectives and talents of others. Seeing both sides of the coin. Digging for urban gold at flea markets and in basements. I make a great cup of tea, UK style.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My disarming, friendly smile and outgoing nature.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books- Presently I tend to read history and technical articles focused around vintage electronics, primarily vacuum tube circuits and design parameters.

Movies- Dr. Strangelove, Harold & Maude, Le Mans, Bullitt, High Fidelity, Edward Scissorhands, Bladerunner, Fight Club, The Big Lebowski, Midnight in Paris, just to name a few.

Music- diverse. KFJC is my fave station. Eclectic. Murcof, Waits, Kraftwerk, Monk, Red Lorry Yellow Lorry, Earth Wind & Fire, Count Basie. Changing constantly. Presently rotating a lot of dark ambient & industrial. Radio Dismuke. I collect LP's, those little vinyl nuggets of musical history.

Food- Mole Rojo. My kale/carrot/blueberry smoothies. Grilled food. Indian (Navratan Korma in particular), Thai, Sushi, etc. Honey mangos. Cadbury's or local dark chocolate. Blend 101. Good Earl Grey tea.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Barring basic survival needs-
Pens and pencils
Tinker space
Human interaction and intimacy
My cat
My Workstation
Tea
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Our species and it's similarity to others. Pattern recognition. Biology. Human interaction. What neat things I can make out of found junk. Shapes.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Sketching nudes on the UC campus. Catching up with friends over a drink. As I'm freelance, every night can be Friday or Monday night.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I've had my share of foibles/mistakes/dumb ideas. I usually try to rectify them ASAP.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You see resonance with this profile. You are basically happy, creative and busy. You wish to share the stuff in your head with the stuff in someone Else's head. Cross-pollination.