Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


37 Chicago, IL Man


Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 29-49
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating

My details

Last online
Today – 1:11pm
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
6' 0" (1.83m)
Body Type
Average build
Agnosticism and laughing about it
Dropped out of Post grad
Doesn’t have kids but might want them
English, French (Somewhat), Spanish (Somewhat), Swedish (Somewhat)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Just moved "home" to Chicago and in search of someone amazing to explore the city with.

I just arrived in Chicago (I moved into my Edgewater apartment on my birthday), ending a difficult 14-month stint in Houston (don't hold Texas against me), a move I made for the wrong reason, even though I ended up finding a job that I loved. Originally, I planned to transfer with that job to Los Angeles, but that fell through.

So, I decided to do what I've wanted to do since I left grad school in Milwaukee 12 (gasp) years ago -- move to Chicago, the only city I can honestly say I feel pangs of regret about when departing.

And, yes, this includes the winter. Even though I primarily grew up in Florida (again, don't hold that against me), I prefer the cold to the heat and humidity of summer. My blood never really thinned out after my parents moved us down from Niagara Falls.

You might be able to guess where I went to school based on my username.

And, yes, this includes the winter. Even though I primarily grew up in Florida (again, don't hold that against me), I prefer the cold to the heat and humidity of summer. My blood never really thinned out after my parents moved us down from Niagara Falls.

You might be able to guess where I went to school based on my username.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
My new job is a remote position as a technical writer, which will be an adjustment. However, I have a lot of other applications out there, so things might change! Plus, I write about college basketball for a rapidly-growing new media company you may or may not heard of. I even get to do radio interviews from time to time. Thankfully, this keeps me busy during the worst months of the year (January to March), while allowing me to have a lot more fun when the weather is better.

In other words, I spend a bit more time in front of a computer than is probably healthy, so I really enjoy social opportunities when they arise. Career-wise, I've bounced around a bit: improv actor, radio sportscaster, Epcot tour guide, political science PhD candidate, supermarket training developer, and accidental graphic designer. Add in a theatre minor and life-long interest in art, and I like to think I have a balanced set of interests.

That being said, the Cubs take up a lot of my attention from April to September...and hopefully October will join that span soon.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Trivia (see below), bracketology, writing, editing, correcting people, sticking my foot in my mouth after correcting people, spouting out random (and often completely useless facts), falling for the wrong person at the wrong time...
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My smile, eyes, the fact that I'm typically wearing something with blue in it
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: I mostly read non-fiction, particularly things related to law, politics/government, sports.

Movies: It honestly takes a lot to get me to the theatre. I prefer comedies, sci-fi, and political-type thrillers.

Actually, I'd prefer to see live theatre, if it's an option. I typically take a trip a year to New York for such purposes, usually combined with basketball.

Shows: If the Simpsons are on FXX, one of my TiVo's tuners will be on it. Otherwise, SportsNight, Seinfeld, The West Wing, Law & Order, Red Dwarf, Mystery Science Theater...basically a whole bunch of stuff that's not on anymore. And Top Gear, the UK version. Parks & Rec, Brooklyn Nine Nine, and Community are three of my other current favorites, which should give you a good idea about my sense of humor.

Music: Way too many to list here, some of my choices are great and others are questionable. My three favorite stations are BBC Radio 2, BBC Radio 1, and Toronto's Edge 102.

Food: I've become more adventurous as I've gotten older, but still stay away from things that are too crazy or too spicy. Obviously, I will miss. Texas BBQ and Tex-Mex.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Other than friends and family, of course...and in no specific order...

Apple products
good music
comfortable shoes (hard to find in my size)
sports, particularly college basketball/football and baseball
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
writing, where I'm going on my next weekend trip/vacation, college basketball (especially Florida and Syracuse), when the youngsters will bring the Cubs to the playoffs, politics, the general state of the country/world and how we break this inertia (or, the collective burying of heads in the sand) present in this country right now
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
At a baseball game, happy hour, or at home relaxing. It all depends on how busy the end of the week was.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Long ago, a slightly more geeky version of myself was on the Jeopardy! Teen Tournament. (I lost.)

And I'm not the biggest fan of first dates, they honestly remind me of job interviews. Blah.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
... you want to get off this site and have fun in the real world -- I am unbelievably excited about getting to play tourist in Chicago on a regular basis. (Signing up for a Chicago Architecture Foundation membership is pretty much first on my Chicago To-Do List.)

I'm definitely looking for someone in the city or close by. One of the things I hate the most about Houston is the fact I have to drive EVERYWHERE. Even though I'll still have the car for weekend fun, I'm looking forward to living in a walkable neighborhood again and in a city with passable mass transit.

Plus, I don't like sitting in traffic, so I'm not going to be interested in going to most suburbs (Evanston/Skokie are the two most notable exceptions).

However, you also want something that's more than just fun. My parents just celebrated their 40th wedding anniversary, so that's the type of relationship I'd eventually like to find.

The "shopping" aspect of online dating bothers me. I'd like to meet someone who feels similarly and is willing to be patient, especially since I can be a bit shy at first.