garyjy
27 Seattle, WA
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
garyjy
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Local, organic, and fair-trade.

Just kidding! Except having grown up in the PNW, I guess does that make me a local. Therefore (because stereotypes) I enjoy:

• Hiking, biking, kayaking, snowshoeing, and basically any excuse to be outside when the sun is beaming
• Buying music from record stores and going to live shows
• Hanging out in coffee shops

Also:

• Good food and finding new places with good food
• Visiting friends/family or a new corner of the world
• Summertime swimming in Lake Washington
• Having a laugh, trying new things, and giving misery company with the friends I consider family (and playing with their pets, of course)
• Showing people around the city and pointing out random trivia, history, and urban ephemera that most people notice or care about
• Overusing parentheses (if this profile is any indication)

I am looking for an outgoing partner in crime to partake in the above who doesn't mind the self-deprecating snobbery and neat-freak in me. And if we click, perhaps a lifelong partner in crime (and a life of less eating out and more cooking in).
What I’m doing with my life
Living on Capitol Hill and working as an urban planner(d) in suburbia.
I’m really good at
• Directions
• Trying everything at least once
• Cooking
• Obsessing over Helvetica (the documentary and its use in lieu of Arial)
• Conjuring a song for everything
• Responding to texts, always (even if not immediately)
• Telling myself that 5-10 minutes late is actually on-time
• Savoring my food (i.e. eating really slowly)
• Getting worked up over people's mistreatment of my friends/family
• Snark and yelling at the TV during football
The first things people usually notice about me
You tell me!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: 1984, Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim, The Family Fang, The Fault in Our Stars, Harry Potter, The Hunger Games, Maphead, Naked, On the Beach, The Road, We, the Drowned, Wild

Movies: 007: Skyfall, Big in Japan, The Bourne Identity, The Bourne Supremacy, The Bourne Ultimatum, Chronicle, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, The Goonies, Her, The Pianist, Toy Story 3, Up

TV: Anthony Bourdain, Archer, Arrested Development, Breaking Bad, Fargo, Futurama, The Outs, South Park, Whatever This Is

Music: Arcade Fire, The Beatles, The Clash, Cut Copy, Chet Baker, Chopin, Chvrches, Death Cab for Cutie, Disclosure, Kithkin, The Postal Service, Radiohead, Sam Smith, SOHN, The Sound of Music, Sufjan Stevens, The Thermals, West Side Story, Vampire Weekend

Food: Anything good that doesn't involve 1) internal organs (save for a few exceptions) and 2) bugs.
The six things I could never do without
1. Food/water
2. Functioning internet
3. Positive attitude
4. Good coffee
5. Good friends
6. Good coffee
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My next meal, the most efficient way to get from Point A to Point B, and the most efficient way to get from Meal A to Meal B.
On a typical Friday night I am
Getting dinner and/or drinks with friends before retiring early to catch up on sleep.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
There are certain songs I probably shouldn't listen to at work unless it's OK to be a borderline sobbing, non-functioning employee that day.
You should message me if
You got through reading this still want to grab coffee, drinks, or food sometime!
More