Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

gcolbourn

33 M Oxford, UK

I’m looking for

  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 23–40
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Today – 4:33pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 11″ (1.80m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Vegan
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Sometimes
Religion
Atheism
Sign
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
$80,000–$100,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has a kid
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Recently moved to Oxford, with the aim of get my 3D printing business off the ground. The goal with the business is to become self-sufficient and also a professional philanthropist. I'm hoping the open hardware movement, led by Open Source Ecology (open sourcing all technology required for building advanced civilisation) will allow me (and many others) to effectively retire from wage-slavery in the relatively near term. It was Giving What We Can initially motivated the philanthropy part. I now consider myself part of the fledgling Effective Altruism movement (look it up - basically, it's how anyone can be a real life superhero in terms of saving lives) :-)

It's interesting that OKC have decided I'm "Less Ambitious" - I've got some very big ambitions, maybe I need to try harder!? I've been vegan for 9 years; I think it definitely has the potential to solve a lot of the world's problems. I should also say, that despite doing good/ethics being important to me, I am almost never preachy (often only somewhat tongue in cheek if people have a go), don't take myself that seriously, and like to have a laugh when out with friends.

I have an awesome 6 year-old son who I visit every other weekend in Wolverhampton. Thought it's best to say this straight away if it's going to be an issue!

I have a campervan that I want to go on road trips in as and when I can. It's has also served as part of an ongoing experiment to live as cheaply as possible.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Working on setting up my own business (3D printing for now; more generally - Open Source Hardware). Excited to be in Oxford and getting more directly involved in the Effective Altruist (EA) scene.

Also interested in improving my rationality - been reading Less Wrong for a while now.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Maths, computers, thinking, knowing lots of stuff (spent far to long procrastinating doing my PhD by reading about different things on the internet). Feel like I want to know everything about everything, but I'm happy to stick to the most important stuff for now. Excited about eventually having enough free time to do some of the excellent online courses now on offer.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Long hair, likes a drink, up for a laugh, likes to debate and talk about out-of-the-ordinary things.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Favorite...

Authors - Iain M Banks (The Culture is the closest to the ideal (pan-)human civilisation that I've yet seen described in detail - a long term goal to work towards perhaps...), Eliezer Yudkowsky (Friendly AI: arguably the biggest problem facing Earth-originating sentient life - I used to think climate change was, motiving me to study Earth System Science for my PhD. If done right, I guess a FAI would resemble a Culture Mind. Also Harry Potter and the Methods of Rationality is much better than JK Rowling), George Monbiot (more immediate "real-world" issues, complete with solutions that are sadly overlooked).

Movies - Anything that makes you think, sci-fi, some comedy. Recently I've enjoyed Limitless, Inception, and The Hangover.

TV - don't really watch it, but recently I've enjoyed Inbetweeners and Phone Shop. The Revolution Will Be Televised was well done too.

Music - breakbeats, hip-hop, '60s/'70s rock/psychadelia, anything sort of John Peel/6 Music-ish. Anything good to dance to that's not too cheesy (ok, maybe an occasional bit of cheese if I'm drunk enough). Love a good festival. Festival No. 6 in Portmerion was awesome - amazing scenery (the village, beach, woodland raves) and not too crowded.

On my to do list is to read the best rated 100 novels and watch the best rated 250 films as compiled from a number of sources. I feel I haven't absorbed anywhere near enough culture. Perhaps throw in a few TV series and a few albums as well (although I've got a huge music library already). Anyway, this is all dependent on having more free time...

Food - vegan fast food - American (burger and chips), Chinese (Fried Tofu, soy and chilli sauce, rice noodle stir-fry), Indian (samosa, sag aloo, curries), Thai (coconut/lime curry), Italian (pizza, pasta with vegan cheese). Desserts - Alpro chocolate pudding, Sweedish Glace ice-cream.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
sustenance, shelter, morals/ethics, friends and family, the internet, my laptop & hard drives full of stuff.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
How the future is likely to pan out - will it be a resource-depleted decline in civilisation toward a new dark ages, a rebirth toward a post-scarcity economy through open source hardware, or even a techo-triumph of transhumanism (or indeed a techno-catastrophy from AI or nanotech gone wrong)?

Whether the combination of beliefs that I have put me so far out of the mainstream that I'm doomed to feel a certain amount of alienation for a fair while, whilst the world catches up ;-)
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Often working - still need to grow my business out of it's vulnerable phase. But sometimes out, or visiting friends in London :-)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Death scares me.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You like what you see; you want to chat about any of the interesting stuff mentioned above; or go for a drink/on a date with me.