Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

geekswitch

32 Nottingham, UK Genderqueer, Transgender, Woman

Genderqueer, Transgender, Woman

Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 25–42
  • Located anywhere
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Today – 4:27pm
Orientation
Queer
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
A little extra
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Education
Dropped out of university
Job
Unemployed
Status
Single
Type
Non-monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, and doesn’t want any
Pets
Likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), C++, LISP
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Can't decide whether to leave this profile up and eventually rewrite it, or just ditch it and maybe create a new one later. It's been up for something like ten years now and it's sure not keeping up with who I am!

A quick note re orientation: I'm certainly capable of sexual attraction to men, but life is more complicated than that. NB folks welcome regardless of assignment/etc.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Right now, a lot of recovery. I play games a lot, would like to watch TV with more people. Less of a tech geek than I once was, but that's not saying a lot.

When I've got the spare energy, I have a ridiculous little piece of metamathematics-that-gets-called-computer-science I'm still toying with.

I'd like to settle down (non-monogamously!) with someone eventually, if the welfare system doesn't render that utterly impractical. Right now I'm in no state to - company, cuddles and anything that extends that general direction is very much the order of the day.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
This section used to be mostly snark about how my disabilities interact with general geekiness. Not sure I can be bothered with that now.

I've learned more about conflict than I'd like. I'd prefer the peaceful route out, and if you would too we'll get on just fine - but if you didn't spot that might read as a threat, maybe less so.

I'm better at giving a damn than this currently suggests - wasn't kidding about the "in recovery" part!
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My height and my hair (especially if they're not facing me front-on).

I definitely talk a little softer than my writing voice, though the words're pretty much the same? Tone really doesn't carry online, unfortunately.

If I'm having a bad day (or a bad year), that I'm hypervigilant and I'm not looking to run.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books:

Seanan McGuire (often as Mira Grant), the Discworld series, most stuff by Iain M Banks (and I've enjoyed most of what I've read without the M), most of what I've read by Greg Egan. I'm a habitual Stross fan and won a mug off him a while back.

Music:

Mostly house and old skool hardcore, though I'll listen to most dance music - despite listing house first, I'm a sucker for a good break. I don't necessarily dislike other genres, but I've never put in the time getting to know what I like. I'm not a particularly lyrical person though, my audio and language processing's not as fast as I'd like - I tend to be all about the music itself. Pretty sure that shows in my own work.

Food:

Pizza, pasta, burgers, curry, chocolate. I'm a sucker for a good barbecue sauce. Can be talked into other stuff so long as I'm coping okay at the time though (and if not, just get me a snack beforehand?), so stretching and expanding my culinary horizons makes a good excuse for a date.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
A good conversation
Sharing the subjective
Empathy
Affection
A net connection
Something to keep my brain occupied!
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Dealing with disability and the consequences thereof - both mine and other people's.

The nature of power and how not to abuse it. I guess you could say I have anarchist leanings (quick, call the cops!), but mostly it's about not hurting people (esp. those I care about) and stopping companies and institutions from doing so. That, and giving people agency/not taking it from them.

Old habits die hard, so: better ways to write software, writing better software, getting better software to write itself, better languages to write better software in. Better languages to talk about the languages we want to talk about our software with - and alas, that really isn't a joke.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Probably doing much the same as any other night - weekends don't really stick out for me so much except insofar as they do for other people, I guess.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
So this section used to read: 'Not particularly private, but my screen name isn't "GeeksWitch". It could be said that I turn on geeks, but that's not quite the intention either.' I'm less BDSM-focused these days, though the idea of identifying as vanilla or not-kinky feels decidedly wrong.

I'm grey-A (don't worry, this doesn't mean I'm not interested in sex, it's about why). Oh, and you know how some people snark "did you not get enough attention as a kid?"? Well, I really didn't, though there's more that one way for that to play out.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You feel like it

You don't mind using an IM system other than this site's one pretty quickly - otherwise I'm prone to missing things when I'm doing other stuff on the computer which kinda kills the conversation

You're a decent-sized subset of queer, kinky, geeky and poly (pagan is entirely optional) and figure there're good odds we'll have fun one way or another!