Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

genjimonogatari

34 M Oberlin, OH

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 2:32pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 8″ (1.73m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Aries, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Japanese (Fluently), Chinese (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm a 34 year old graduate student almost done with my PhD in Classical Japanese literature at Ohio State University. I have a job lined up in Oberlin which I'm eager to start. Before that I spent 2 years in Japan teaching English. My undergraduate major was Computer Science but I quickly learned that wasn't for me.

Enough of the dry stuff; I consider myself pretty easy-going, and I'm usually willing to try something new. Usually when I'm not working on my dissertation, I like to bicycle, play games (video, card, board), watch football on the weekends, and read. I've been trying to learn to cook but it's not much fun cooking for one.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm in my 9th year of graduate study at OSU; I finished the candidacy exam so I just have the dissertation left (ugh). After that I hope to find some sort of teaching job at the college level.
I’m really good at
I suppose I'm good at Japanese, if I've gotten this far. I used to be good at piano but I wonder if I can play anymore.

I enjoy crosswords although I'm not yet "really good" at them...
The first things people usually notice about me
Good question. I guess I need to ask other people to know this -- at some point people find out that I go by my middle name. But I guess that's not first. I'm white? I don't know. I guess you can find out!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
The Tale of Genji is my favorite book, thus my profile title and my current academic projects. Other than that, I tend to read older literature. I used to read sci-fi and fantasy but I haven't done much of that lately (I did recently read some Asimov...)

Movies...I'm not that much of a movie person. I enjoy watching them but I don't watch many on my own. If I had to list my favorites, I would say American Beauty, Wall-E, Airplane!, and The Godfather. I also like watching bad movies for fun sometimes -- Nicolas Cage is always good for a laugh. However, I do like watching movies with other people (good or bad movies).

Music? Bach. Jethro Tull. Although when I'm in the car I usually flip around the classic rock or soft rock radio stations.

TV shows - Breaking Bad, Lost, Law and Order, Doctor Who, Downton Abbey

I like Asian food, but I have a soft spot for American food as well -- hamburgers are always delicious. I even like McDonalds...
The six things I could never do without
1. A computer with Internet access
2. Books
3. Friends
4. Good food and drink
5. Coffee in the morning
6. Video games? Football on TV? Not sure what should go 6th.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Can I get a job in my field that I want? Stay tuned!
On a typical Friday night I am
Eating dinner with friends, or relaxing at home.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I watched a daily soap opera (General Hospital) for many years, although I no longer do. Sometimes I sing in the shower.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 23–39
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You want to know more about me. My profile writing skill is perhaps lacking. Oh, and the whole dating thing -- this is OkCupid, after all. (Although I'd also be interested in someone to cycle with.)

It would be good if we shared at least some interests -- playing games (board, card, or video), bicycling, watching football, literature, cats, Japanese, crossword puzzles, but I'm pretty open to trying new things.