Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

goldenapples_

40 M Portland, OR

My Details

Last Online
Aug 23, 2013
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 3″ (1.91m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Atheism, and laughing about it
Sign
Cancer, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from space camp
Job
Technology
Income
Relationship Status
Married
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has kids, but doesn’t want more
Pets
Has dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I was an activist, philosopher, and dilettante for about half my life. Then I had kids and none of that felt worth the risk and the time. I don't really know what I'm into these days.
What I’m doing with my life
I've been married for about 10 years - marriage as an institution means nothing to me, but our relationship and family are extremely important to me. My partner's on here too - Creideamh.

We were de facto monogamous for several years, when our lives were too hectic and stressful to really be part of a community. Now that we don't have children under 5 and are finding a more supportive community, we're starting to open up our relationship again.

Is this TMI? Maybe. My point is that I don't want to present myself as someone in an open relationship who's really ready to start a new relationship. I'm open to dating, but I'm more interested in meeting friends to hang out with first....
I’m really good at
I think I'm pretty good at mediating disagreements. I can be a great parent when I get enough sleep and stimulation.

I have what I think are great ideas that mostly I never do anything with - Startup Ideas As A Service.

I can design stuff a bit, and code a lot better, and mostly I just listen to what people tell me and clarify what they want for them.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm kinda tall. I have a big-ass beard. People who get to know me describe me as ”calm” or ”patient”. Other people probably just see me as quiet.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: a lot of cyberpunk (Neal Stephenson, William Gibson, Cory Doctorow). I like absurdist fiction, especially from African writers (Ngugi WA Thiong'o and Chinua Achebe are a couple of my favorites). I also read a fair amount of non-fiction, mostly popular science type stuff.

Music: I've probably listened to about everything at one time or another. Lately I've settled into a lot of reggae and a lot of folk-punk. I could probably listen to nothing but Blackbird Raum and be satisfied most days.
The six things I could never do without
Quality hot sauce
Command line prompt
Light to read or write by
Socks
music
My partner and children
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to have an impact on the world. Seriously. Most of my life I devoted to activism and punk counter culture stuff. Now that I'm not in those scenes anymore, I feel like I've really lost my direction. I mean, I still know what I believe, but without the debate and critique you get in a healthy activist community, parts of my mind are going soft. And without being part of a praxis, ideas are pretty meaningless.
On a typical Friday night I am
Probably doing dishes and playing with Legos or blocks, or stuffed animals.
I’m looking for
  • Everybody
  • Ages 29–45
  • Near me
  • For new friends