Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

gothick_matt

42 Bristol, UK Man

Man

Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 30–44
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Jul 31
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Overweight
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Buddhism, and laughing about it
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Technology
Income
$50,000–$60,000
Status
Single
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes cats
Speaks
English
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm a heading-towards-40 geek, and I've mostly not been in a relationship for many of those years. My friends seem to think this is not a great thing, and keep on badgering me to sign up for a dating site or two. Maybe they're right.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Last year I quit my dull job in an insurance company and started freelancing, making websites, and apps for mobile phones, working with a couple of old university friends. That seems to be working out pretty well :)

The main app is a running trainer, and it's great to see people getting running all over the world using our app. Much more satisfying than insurance reporting!

It also started *me* running, so I'm often out jogging around the harbourside, out in Leigh Woods, or around the Downs.

I'm trying to find more ways of helping people with technology, and hopefully make some kind of a living while I'm about it...

I'm also becoming more environmentally-friendly, mostly thanks to one of my closest friends, who's doing a permaculture course and gradually indoctrinating me...
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Programming, reading, walking (an underrated skill, I feel), singing badly when there's nobody else around.

Physically, I'm "fat but fit", in that I'm somewhere around James Corden's size, but I can happily run a 10K (and not-so-happily a half-marathon; I've done four of those in the last two years...)
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'll have to ask. So far, my friend Emmeline says it's my smile and my laugh, but she may just be being polite and not mentioning the two heads.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I suppose Martin Amis and Ernest Hemingway are probably the more literate end of my spectrum. I've also been enjoying discovering Ali Smith recently. Then it's mostly down through good science fiction, from modern writers like Richard Morgan to the golden oldies like Ursula Le Guin and Robert Heinlein (though I'm less fond of him these days...) to light fluff like Lee Child's style of cheap thriller. Sometimes you just need something to get you through a wait at an airport!

Film-wise, I've not seen a lot, though I'm trying to fix that. The last three things I've seen were Jeff, Who Lives at Home (gentle fun); The Intouchables (great French film; I seem to like French films, though I've not seen very many); and Skyfall (well, what can I say? It's a Bond film. And a brilliant one, if you like that sort of thing...)

I don't really do shows -- I've seen a handful of plays in my life, and enjoyed them at the time, but I pretty much need to be dragged along by someone else to get there. Don't know why.

Music -- I have some fairly odd and niche tastes. Having grown up on eighties pop, goth and rock, I now find myself liking everything from quirky acts like the late-lamented Monkey Swallows the Universe to bigger new things like The XX or The National. The Cowboy Junkies, and Thea Gilmore are a couple of my long-standing musical companions. I will also admit to liking Pete Doherty. Well, his music, anyway.

I like little local bands, too. I want to go to The Louisiana and other little venues more often.

For food, I'm very wide-ranging in my tastes. Hardly anything's off the menu, though I did spend around a decade as a vegetarian. I'm gradually learning to cook; favourite chefs are Jamie Oliver and Nigel Slater, I reckon.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
The company of a good friend. Books. Trees. Water (to walk beside, that is.) A camera. Computers (sad but true.) Hugs. The inability to count to six.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Usually at home, sometimes with a friend. Because I don't work a typical working week in an office, Fridays don't mean quite so much to me as most people.