Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

heiko2012

62 La Crosse, WI Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 50–62
  • Located anywhere
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Today – 6:02am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Other
Height
5′ 9″ (1.75m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Other, but not too serious about it
Sign
Gemini, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Monogamous
Offspring
Has a kid
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), German (Poorly), Spanish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
"We don’t stop playing because we grow old, we grow old because we stop playing." George Bernard Shaw

Shaw said it better than I could, but it is true. Life is what you make of it, and I am busy trying to make each day count.

I am a teacher /scientist /cook /gardener /photographer /woodworker. I love to laugh and enjoy good food, good music, and good company. I have recently moved to the midwest after many years in New England (Near Boston). I have family "roots" in Iowa, and find myself feeling right at home where I live now.

I teach biology to college students, which I enjoy immensely. I teach topics related to health care, nutrition, and general biology. Long ago I was in cancer research, which was very interesting, but I find that teaching is much more fulfilling.

My sense of humor is robust and multi-layered. I find humor in many different situations, and enjoy helping others laugh. As you might guess, I am generally pretty light-hearted, and can be downright silly at times. But I can also be as serious as I need to be, in any given situation. In general I feel that life is too short to… (well, see below).

I enjoy being outdoors, being physically active, taking photos of people, nature, and old buildings. Some of my favorites physical activities include bicycling, swimming, running, hiking, and snowshoeing.

I use the nickname Heiko with friends, instead of the name I was given at birth (Gary). I’ve changed gradually over the past few years, becoming more centered, much happier, and just more alive. The name Heiko just feels like it fits better now. Heiko was the name of one of my grandfather’s brothers, and I always liked the name, and him. (you can see a photo of the two of us on his 90th birthday).

Life is too short to:
- not laugh every day
- not be sincere
- not cook and eat real food
- take yourself too seriously
- not enjoy live music
- not care about people
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Trying to truly enjoy every day of it. Envisioning the ideal teacher, and trying to be more like them. At the same time trying to inject humor into as many situations as possible. Hoping to find an similarly irreverent soulmate (if such a thing is possible).
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Appreciating the good in people
Bad puns (which I mostly keep to myself - OK, sometimes keep to myself)
Finding lost items (unless I’m the one who lost them, of course)
Making guacamole that puts a smile on people’s faces
Listening and hearing what people are saying
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My smile and my laugh, at least I think so. What will you notice?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books
I like to read, and I love books (and bookstores, and libraries). I don’t read as much fiction as I might (I'm busy reading non-fiction, plus I am somewhat dyslexic), but my favorite authors include Ursula LeGuin and John Steinbeck.

Music
I like many types of music… various types of rock, blues, jazz, reggae, r&b, techno… (not a fan of opera, and most country music doesn’t do much for me)

Films
I really enjoy movies! (especially with good company and/or a kindred spirit) What kinds of movies? Comedies (of course) but also action films, dramas, romances, and others. Independent and foreign films can be very fun. A few of my favorites are: An Unfinished Life, Being There, Do The Right Thing, Frida, Pow-Wow Highway, Run Lola Run, Sliding Doors, Soul Kitchen, Stand and Deliver, Under the Same Moon, and Whale Rider.

Food
I am BIG fan! (BIG!!!)
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
- being physically active
- being mentally active
- being honest
- interesting music
- a sense of humor
- my daughter (not a thing, yes I know…)
(not necessarily in that order)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
re-inventing some of my favorite recipes from days past! At one time I knew them by heart so I did not write them all down... (I wish I had)
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
It varies a lot - perhaps relaxing at home, sometimes out with friends. Usually nothing that could seriously compete with an offer of good food with the right company.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I have only lived in TV-free households since about 1980. (it frees up a LOT of time...)
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
If you think that we might have similar or compatible interests I would be pleased to hear from you. Or perhaps you will hear from me first!
Cheers… Heiko