Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

herebychoice

49 M Madison, WI

My Details

Last Online
Aug 11
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 2″ (1.88m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Buddhism
Sign
Virgo
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Income
Relationship Status
Seeing Someone
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Japanese (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
UPDATE: I recently started dating someone I met online, so I'm currently just looking for friends.

Friends tell me I’m thoughtful, perceptive -- also full of dry humor, especially when I’m tired or have had too much chocolate. I’d add that I’m loyal to my friends (anyone who thinks I'm thoughtful, perceptive, and funny, is what I mean here). I'm also pretty low key. I love people -- they fascinate me -- but I don't get off on crowds. On the weekends you’re more likely to find me hanging with a few close friends than at a big party.

I love the outdoors, and get out in nature whenever I can. I pay plenty of attention to being and acting healthy and taking good care of my body and mind. While cooking is probably a cliche with guys on dating sites now, the truth is I really do like it – mainly because it’s relaxing. I don't claim to be exceptional here, but my mango curry, vegetable chili, and salmon sushi roll have gotten pretty good reviews.

I lived abroad for a number of years in my twenties and thirties, working as a translator. It was great, and it shaped who I am. But, I’m very appreciative of where I am now -- geographically and metaphorically -- and of the many close friends and family that I have in my life.

What am I looking for? Well... definitely someone who is interested in what's under the surface -- someone with whom I can talk about “deep” stuff. But also someone to share the silly details and small pleasures of life with. After all, we’re here to have fun as well. Ideally, you'd also be active and health conscious, intelligent and kind, and have a healthy appetite for life. The way to my heart is to be able to tease me. To get there, there has to be affection, closeness and trust. I want a relationship that develops those qualities. If this all sounds like you, let’s talk…
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Finishing up a doctoral progam. Running a small business to get me through grad school. I spend a lot of time teaching college students about psychology. The one-to-one connections – more so than lecturing – are what inspire me.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Finding the right words to describe something, talking things through to get to the heart of a matter, making strange and interesting concoctions, cooking stuff from recipes, putting old stuff together to make something new, listening and making insightful comments.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My height and my smile get noticed, I am told. Also, I often hear I look much younger than my actual age.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
These days I really don't watch TV (would rather listen to NPR) -- but occasionally I'll catch stuff like the Office or the Colbert Report online.

I love movies. Some all-time favorites are Office Space, Ordinary People, Pride and Prejudice, Life of Brian, Shawshank Redemption.

Don't have as much time to read as I would like right now. But I'll peruse self-improvement, personal growth stuff as long as it's not too flaky -- books like Passionate Marriage and Mindset (maybe somewhat obscure titles?). I also read Buddhist philosophy and some Western thinkers (e.g., Emerson, Thoreau, Ken Wilbur, Robert Pirsig). I like poetry -- Tagore, Whitman, for instance. When I have the time, and I won't really until I finish my dissertation, I like reading the great works of literature -- Dickens, etc. Finally, for switching gears I read epic fantasy and science fiction novels -- and this tends to get done whether I have time for it or not.

I like music from almost every genre -- especially roots rock, folk, and blues. I'm a big Bob Dylan fan -- especially his more recent stuff. I actually think he's gotten more interesting with age. The guy has a terrible voice now, it's true, but that doesn't mean his singing can't be amazingly evocative. Recently, I'll also be found listening to the likes of Greg Brown, Lucinda Williams, Jack Johnson, the Avett Brothers, Neko Case, and the Red Hot Chili Peppers.

I'm up for almost any type of food, but really like Japanese, Indian, Thai, Southwestern, Italian, and a good burger.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
1. Good friends
2. Blueberries
3. Thoughtful conversation
4. Tomato sauce
5. Good music
6. Walks in the woods
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Hmmm. A couple things come to mind. First, it is difficult for me to harm even the smallest creature. So rather than kill an insect in the house, I’ll usually transport it outside to what is surely a better life for all involved. There are some exceptions to this, of course.

Also, I am not such a great dancer and definitely a bad singer, but still like to do both. Gotta work with what you got...
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 38–52
  • Near me
  • For new friends
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You think we might hit it off.