Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

heyrubyjean

39 F Decatur, GA

My Details

Last Online
Apr 18
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 5″ (1.65m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism
Sign
Virgo
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
$80,000–$100,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Has dogs and has cats
Speaks
English, Spanish, Swahili

Similar Users

My self-summary
About me - recently characterized as "intense and easy going at the same time." But I realize this sounds cliche (can self-summaries ever not sound this way without being overly eccentric?). Let's see. I embrace all kinds of learning and most kinds of fun. I respect creative living, authentic experience and conscious decision-making. Growing and evolving are critically important, but so is not taking things so seriously. Hopefully engaging in activity that might contribute something of value to this world and to the lives of a few humans and animals in it. This being said, I'm not all sunshine and optimism. Like most, I'm complex - I appreciate dark humor and cynicism as well as light and loveliness. And I clean up well.

For work: I study the effects of social and material inequality (stigma, discrimination, social positioning) on health and well-being in various countries and contexts - or something like this. And now and then I'll deliver a baby or two.
For pleasure: Wilderness, wildness, rivers, growing things, animals, good food, great music, film festivals, my water garden... Exploring - give me a map and a pair of decent sandals and I'm in heaven. I also adore breakfast. And craft beer (although not for breakfast). If that's not enough to pique your interest, I delight in making pies and other baked goods at all hours of day or night.

Who I'm looking for - someone attracted to the above. Someone who is emotionally mature and who knows himself, kindhearted and empathetic, intelligent and creative, curious and adventurous. And also happy to live with a couple of golden retrievers and a cat...

I'll just note - if you consider yourself very conservative (socially or politically), we probably don't share the same values. I also have an aversion to men who won't date women their own age.
What I’m doing with my life
Trying to figure it out.
I’m really good at
Swimming. Navigating strange cities. Perceiving people's intentions.
The first things people usually notice about me
Possibly my smile - I have pretty great teeth. But quite frankly, this usually depends on who's doing the noticing.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Music: Iron & Wine, Josh Rouse, M Ward, Beth Orton, Andrew Bird, Yo La Tengo, Gillian Welch, OCMS, Carolina Chocolate Drops, Neil Young, Van Morrison, Levon Helm, Mavis Staples (with The Band as well as with Jeff Tweedy), and a good number of disco-era soul hits. And swing.
TV: Battlestar Galactica, Justified, Homeland, Northern Exposure. College basketball.
News and Other Media: NPR, Slate, NY Times, Planet Money, Frontline. Daily Show, Colbert. Ok - I have a little crush on Brian Williams. I'm also a big fan of Radiolab.
Books: Dickens, Flannery O'Conner, The River Why (Duncan), The Story of Edgar Sawtelle (Wroblewski), Harper Lee, AS Byatt, Salman Rushdie, Stegner, Annie Dillard, Garcia Marquez, Bradbury, Roald Dahl... And the occasional spy thriller.
Movies: Not even going to try.
Food: All kinds - just not medium. Love treats.
The six things I could never do without
For one - the dogs, the cat, and all other dear ones. Banana pudding popsicles. Also fried oysters. Road trips. Tea.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What my dogs are thinking about.
On a typical Friday night I am
Ah. Relaxing. Early evening swim, walk in the woods, banh mi on Buford Highway, drink on the patio at the Marlay House, nature doc at the Fernbank, Netflix and laundry (I know how this sounds, but it's actually quite nice)...
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm kind of a sucker for beards, mustaches, sideburns, soul patches, 5 o'clock shadows, and most other facial hair styles - or mishaps.

Also, I wear glasses about half of the time. I'm not wearing them in the photos so just thought I should mention it.
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 39–49
  • Located anywhere
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating
You should message me if
You are a fantastic human being who relates to many of these ideas and has made a bit of effort in life. No willful ignorance, please. No Ayn Rand lovers.