Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

hobbes29

34 M Willow Springs, IL

My Details

Last Online
Today – 9:06pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 9″ (1.75m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Japanese (Poorly)

Similar Users

What I’m doing with my life
UPDATE: I decided that 2014 was going to be a year of change for me. So, as of 4/18 I'll be leaving my job of fifteen years and setting out on some adventures! I'll be travelling a lot for the next several months, both in the U.S. and out. But, for now Chicago's still my "base of operations" and when I'm not travelling, I'm up for meeting new people, making new connections, and I'll be learning plenty of new stuff to prepare for the next phase of my career. Adventures are best when shared, so I'm open for a companion!

Striving to live a balanced and enjoyable life. I'm fairly outdoorsy and enjoy backpacking and mountain biking in the summertime, and in the wintertime I'm at the rock climbing wall a few days a week. All year round, I'm considering my next trip. The last few were backpacking in Shenandoah, then another backpacking trip in Whistler, and most recently got back from a mountain biking trip in Morocco.

I used to be pretty into long distance running, but haven't done a marathon in a few years. I recently got into obstacle course racing, and my most recent foray was a local zombie 5K event...which I did not survive. Perhaps taunting the zombie teenagers (the worst kind!) was ill-advised. Next year I'd like to do some of the harder ones, like Tough Mudder and the like.

Continuing to work on my bucket list, a work in progress:

-I've always wanted to ride in a motorcycle side car.
-Acquire and restore a Delorean
-Try archery
-Re-create a Calvin and Hobbes-inspired snowman depiction
-Visit Ireland
I’m really good at
Typing. When I was a kid my video games got me into a lot of trouble with the grades, and I was perpetually grounded from Nintendo from age 10 till 14 or so. So, during that time the only video "game" I had was Mavis Beacon Teaches Typing... and it a surprising impact on my life. Thanks to Mavis, I now type about 95 wpm.

Analyzing and problem solving... which is how I've gotten to be decent at my job, designing software to help solve problems.

Seeing things that most people don't; and, as a trade-off, often missing the obvious stuff instead. I think I'm good at seeing both the good and bad in situations, people, and anything else, not jumping to conclusions, and making frequent updates to my roadmap.

Carving pumpkins- I'm always the last one in the group to finish, pruning it like a bonsai tree.... holy buckets, that gives me an idea for my next piece! Win!
The first things people usually notice about me
No clue. Maybe I should wear a t-shirt that says "tell me your first impression of me!" so I'd know the answer to this question. One friend told me the other day, "you look like Ghostbusters" and when I mentioned this on Facebook, everyone seemed to agree for some reason. I don't know what that means but ok.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: the Song of Ice & Fire series is currently my favorite all-time series and I hope George R.R. Martin wraps it up well- it's really hard to write a perfect series, but he's off to a great start! Other recent reads which I've enjoyed: the Omnivore's Dilemma, Bounce (a book about the science of success), and currently finally getting around to reading the Hobbit. I also read the Hunger Games Trilogy and can't figure out what the big deal was- Katniss' internal dialogue was too annoying for me, which is probably why I preferred the movie.

Movies: all time favorites include Shawshank Redemption, As Good as it Gets, Big Trouble in Little China, the Back to the Future series.

TV shows: I don't watch a lot of shows, but I do follow The Walking Dead, Dexter, South Park, and Game of Thrones.

Music: VAST is a personal favorite. Other stuff on my recent listening list: Peter Gabriel, Soundtribe Sector Nine, Michael Jackson, Shinedown, Seether, Peter Frampton, Alice in Chains, the Prodigy (pre Fat of the Land), and lots of instrumental stuff like movie scores because I listen to music while I work, and lyrical stuff is kinda distracting. Hans Zimmer's music seems to be compatible with me getting stuff done.

Comic strip: Calvin & Hobbes, hands down.
The six things I could never do without
Runner's high
Music
Quality sleep
The changing of the seasons
Freedom
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What the sixth thing is that I could never do without? Chuck Norris? Pandas? My original Nintendo Entertainment System? It's a tough one.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hanging out at a friend's house playing board games or out to see a movie. Sometimes games that make my head hurt, other times, mindless fun. But I'll take mindless board game fun over mindless standing-at-a-bar fun.
I’m looking for
  • Straight girls only
  • Ages 25–36
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating
You should message me if
You're physically active! You like running around in the woods, getting dirty once in a while.

You've read the Song of Ice and Fire books.

You want to join me in crossing items off on our mutual bucket lists in good company!

Your profile isn't written in all-caps.