honoluluinabox
31 Oakland, CA
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
honoluluinabox
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a translator (of foreign languages) and artist (or am I designer?). Born on the East Coast, landed in Portland via DC and Austin after a couple stints living abroad.

Now living in the East Bay, excited to be starting a post Bac program for counseling/social work/psychology careers.
What I’m doing with my life
Running a small but successful translation business, which I'll eventually transition away from when I get my MFT (counseling degree). When there's time left over, I'm drawing, doing ceramics, taking an illustration class or working on my textile designs.
I’m really good at
foreign languages, drawing, sculpting, carving
parallel parking
talking to strangers
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Iron and Wine, R.E.M., Bombay Bicycle Club, the Antlers, Cold War Kids, Paul Simon, Modest Mouse, the Vaccines. Perhaps overly loyal to the early to mid 2000s when it comes to what I mostly listen to and am entirely open to my musical horizons being expanded.

Love documentaries and comedy over drama and most series: Kroll Show, Peep Show, the Office (UK). And plenty of Heidecker/Wareheim and Co. Lately enjoying Tim's parody of Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee.
The six things I could never do without
the open sky
the open road
the actual radio
my Dalmatian mutt
my sketchbook
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Language
Colors, shapes, shadows
The hedonic treadmill/receding horizons
Swedish things
What will become of the Bay Area
On a typical Friday night I am
Maybe dinner out, maybe a bar with friends, but equally likely painting or sketching or hanging with my dog.
You should message me if
You throw your head back when you laugh
More